Me and Mom

Today I spent time scrapbooking old family photos.  I felt compelled to connect to my past.  I scrapbook events chronologically, so these mini-albums I do take me out of my comfort zone.  I find the challenge stimulating, keeping this hobby fresh.  It’s also cool to find old photos, and seeing that nothing really changes.

I found pics of my mom and her mother, Ellen.  I never knew Ellen; she died when mom was about 20 years old.  She looks sleek in her younger portraits and a comfortable frumpy as an older woman.  She took pictures and made albums, identifying the people in the photos, the place it was taken, and the date.  I like Ellen.

Mom did the same thing with photos as I do now.  Identification is key.  If not, all you have are pictures of strange faces.  In these faces, I found pictures of all of us in similar events.  There’s Ellen holding baby mom, and I found one of mom holding baby me.  A headshot portrait of each of us shows the resemblance passed down.  I was always told I looked like my mom, but I could never see it…until now.  We have the same smile, a pleasant crooked one-sided curl with a slight head tilt.  My eyes resemble my mom, although mom’s are defintely Ellen’s eyes. 

Mom and Me

Aren’t we just the cutest gals?  This is the story of my life.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

