Welcome to my Halloween Party!!

Hedwig is pleased that her talon-delivered invitation found its way to you.  She is excited about the Halloween party, as are all the Guys.

Come this way.  Do not be afraid.  The moon is half full, and the ghoul guardian is here to guide you to the festivities.

 Enter the realm of the partygoers. 

  There is no need to knock.

  We have been expecting you.

 Sehlat, your host, greets you at the door. 

 “Greetings and welcome to my costume party,” he says.  With a slight bow, he motions with his paw to enter.   “Make yourself at home, enjoy the food and festivities.”

 The house is alive with chatter and laughter, the smell of food dancing on your nose.  The night is cold, but the warmth inside beckons like a soothing fireplace.  “Come and meet some of the other guests.”

.

Bo and Lily are in the side room.  Lily relaxes on a chair, dressed in her pajamas, remarking to Bo how much his angel costume is misleading.  They laugh together.

 Wolf admires AJ’s pirate outfit.  “I just came dressed as a wolf,” says Wolf.

“Nothing wrong with being true to yourself,” says AJ, adjusting his sword.  “Me, I’ve always had a bit of the swashbuckler in me, despite coming from Arizona.  One never thinks of swashbuckling and desert in the same sentence, which is probably why I like it so much.” 

With a howl of laughter, they wander off to mingle with others.

Ahhhhh…Lasso and Gallops seem to have the right idea.  Let’s rustle up some grub ourselves, shall we?

“The boooberry nut muffins are delish,” says Lasso, balancing one in his hooves.  “I’ve had two already.  I highly recommend them.”

.

“Mmmphhh…meh thoo,” Gallops whinnies, her mouth full of the tasty pastry.

That’s a good place to start.  I see a plate of them over on the buffet table.  Oh, they do look scrumptious.  There should be enough for us to share.  Maybe.

I am told that Sehlat’s famous Vampire Blood Bagel Bites are to die for.  They do look saucy.  {munch}   Oh, these are good, positively succulent.  {munch, munch}

Thirsty?  Me, too.  There are some glasses over there.  

 Have a drink.

 It smells of cloves and cherries.  An interesting combination.  Wine?  Punch? 

{sip} 

There is something spicy in this.  Mmmm.    What is the special ingredient?

 What’s that floating in liquid?

 Uhhhh…eyeballs?

 Oh, look…

…more guests have arrived.  Let’s, uh, go over there to chat.

 Snuff and Bear stand by the headstone, commenting on costumes.

 “I wore this bride outfit 7 years ago for an event,” Snuff boasts.  “All these years later, and it still fits!”  He struts around and twirls for Bear.

  “I love it!” Bear chuckles.  He has such a hearty laugh, the kind that makes you feel warm and snuggly, curled up in a blanket on your dad’s lap.  His  eyes are kind behind those thick glasses, and he motions to them.  “I had to dig into my hallowed chamber to find these.”

“They look good on you,”  Snuff nods.  “Makes you look scholastic.”

Dotters and Whiffer are in the far corner.  “I love the misty feel Sehlat has played here.  It’s a good thing it’s not real smoke,” shivers Whiffer.  “Although you are dressed for just such an emergency.”

“Yep, I am.”  Dotters nods his head, proudly puffing out his chest.  “A tribute to my hometown.  And you, a symbol of your giving nature?”

“Always faithful,” states Whiffer.  “And I love cookies and milk, too.”

What lies behind that mysterious myst?

? ? ? ?

Wander into the Green Room.  It’s rather crowded in here.  Oh, I see, there are more snacks on the other side.  Let’s see if we can squeeze through.

Underneath the glow of green lights, Beauty and Puff have a chance to catch up with each other.

Beauty smiles down at the little dragon.  “You look well, little one.  Your wings are coming in nicely.”

“Soon they’ll be big enough for me to fly.” Puff hangs his head.  “All I can do right now is a little swoop.”

Beauty touches his head, her eyes glittering.  “I was the same way, so eager.  You have a wonderful coloring, so I have no doubt you’ll be full flight-ready soon.”

.

 Not to fear, little rat!  These black cats will not bring bad luck.  Instead, they brought you a drink.  It’s not the same drink that we had; perhaps this is less exotic?  What is it?

 “It’s warm cider, my favorite.  Thank you,” Ike chimes.   Scaredy Cat and Trix purr with delight.

Speaking of delight, Catnap has just scored the winning touchdown.   Thistle shakes her pom-poms and jumps up and down.

 “One two three, who can’t be beat? 

 Four five six, you’ve got some tricks. 

Seven eight nine, who’s looking fine? 

We are, We are, We are the Champs!  Hail to the Lion!”

Thistle’s cheering fades as Perry’s bass guitar twines as Princess snuggles close.  Rock star and groupie?  Nope, just good friends who walk to the same beat.  That beat just happens to be The Who.  Sometimes it’s Yes.  Madonna.  Sometimes it’s Meatloaf, or Madonna.  Other times it’s Bon Jovi.  Sometimes it’s also Destiny’s Child.   Such ecelectic tastes forge strong friendships.

 We’ve reached the food.  The Witches Brew is almost done.  When they try to escape from the froth, then the potion is complete.

Mmmmm…some meowwth-watering Black Cat Tuna Sandwiches.  

It’s a ghastly thought, but can you believe they ran out of Blood Bites?  Here come more.  Sehlat enters the room.  “Piping hot.  Take a bite,” he announces.

 These are just as tasty, even moreso coming straight from the oven.  What a masterful host Sehlat is.  What a great chef. 

Did you know he attended one of the top universities in the country?  He learned all about planting and eating and farming, especially the creamy dairy delights of ice cream. 

It’s said that he studied with the famous Ben Cohen and Jerry Greenfield.  “Orange and Cream” was named after his soft, sleek fur.  So they say, whoever “they” are.

Truth or myth??

Whatever it is, he is masterful in all realms of food.  Look at the spirited cupcakes.  My goodness, I may roll out of here.

.

Sehlat raps his paw for everyone’s attention.  “It’s now time to announce the best costumes.  The winner is….”

Who is the winner of the costume contest?  Well, it’s..it’s…it’s for you to choose.  Leave a comment below voting for your favorite costume.  The winner will be announced early next week.

It’s time to depart and move on.  I can’t recall the last time I ate this much zesty food.  It’s always a good party when you are stuffed.

 

 

 

 

 

And yet I wonder…what was behind that myst? ? ?

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zina Zraikat
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 06:47:22

    Great Halloween post….cute dolls!
    xx
    Z
    http://zinawright.typepad.com/messyart/2010/10/c.html

    Reply

  2. tmargot
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 07:09:39

    Very cute! Can’t wait to see you at PSU!

    Reply

  3. RD
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 08:51:45

    Really great party–love all the critters!

    Reply

  4. Margareta from Paper Pile Kitten's Blog
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 09:29:59

    So cute!! Thank you for sharing!
    Welcome to visit my Halloween party:
    http://www.paperpilekitten.com/2010/10/a-magic-halloween-party-enter-at-your-own-risk.html

    Reply

  5. Jo
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 09:46:16

    Super cute! Loved your post! Hope you’ll stop by, Happy Halloween!

    Reply

  6. Lisa WrightStuff
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 10:31:15

    What a great party! You must have had so much fun putting this together. Are there any tasty nibbles left? I am feeling a bit peckish!!

    Reply

  7. Danni
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 11:28:44

    What a great party! I loved meeting all of the party goers and sampling all of the delicious treats.

    Perhaps when you’ve recovered from your revelry, you’d like to stop by and visit with me?

    Reply

  8. dogsmom
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 12:23:04

    Best costume? For me it is a tie between AJ (gotta love a dashing pirate) and Whiffer, but perhaps I love Whiffer more than the costume.

    The “popcorn hands” made me do a doubletake!

    Such wonderful detail and delicious entrees.

    DogsMom

    Reply

  9. ~Que Bella~
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 14:03:55

    Great party and story! Love all those critters! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  10. kelly jeanette
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 14:18:29

    What cute guest. And all those goodies look yummy. Had afun time. Please drop by my party at-http://kellysalteredart.blogspot.com/2010/10/halloween-party-2010.html

    Happy Halloween!

    Reply

  11. Aurelia
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 15:04:33

    Hehe what a fun party! Wolf’s wolf costume was so true to life ;) hehe.

    The boooberry nut muffins look very tasty indeed, but I think I’ll pass on the eyeball punch!

    This is my first blog-party, it’s been so much fun so far! Thank you for sharing your wonderful party story! :)

    http://modernwomans.blogspot.com/2010/10/something-witchy-this-way-comes.html

    Reply

  12. inge bekaert
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 15:47:55

    Hello,

    I felt quite comfortable at your party with your guests :)
    the vampire blood bagel bites don’t attract me immediately to bite in, but maybe they so taste great !

    greetings from belgium
    Inge

    I have a blogpartygive away at web.me.com/pinkepinke

    Reply

  13. Marzel
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 18:07:45

    That was very cute …thank you for allowing me to come.

    Please enter my giveaway at

    http://theplayoflightandshadow.blogspot.com/2010/10/welcome-to-happy-halloween-party-and.html

    Reply

  14. a fanciful twist
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 19:19:17

    OH!! CUTIES!!! I think I WOULD LOVE a Vampire blood bagel. Too many sweets, I need one vite vite ;) !

    I love your tale and all of your vignettes! Thank you for sharing your magic, and taking the time to put together such a deligthful post!! ♥, Vanessa {A Fanciful Twist}

    Reply

  15. Celina Matthews
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 21:14:36

    What an adorable post! I had so much fun here! Thank you for inviting me to your party! I hope you’ll visit my party, too!

    ~Celina
    forevervampress@aol.com
    http://scrapvamp.blogspot.com

    Reply

  16. Tracey aka Jasmoon
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 22:53:23

    Reply

  17. Susan's Crafty Chaos
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 04:55:54

    I think Snuff is my favourite costume, I can just see him twirling around in the beatiful veil :)
    Thanks for a fun party post :)

    Reply

  18. Susan G
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 05:55:34

    A_DOR_A_BLE!!!! Thanks for this smiling -good time :)

    I think I just have to vote for the fireman :)

    peace,
    Susan

    come visit:
    http://piecesoffatesusan.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  19. Vicki O'Dell
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 14:54:29

    Still out visiting Halloween Parties! Love your post! I hope you’ll visit me if you have a chance.
    http://www.creativegoddess.typepad.com

    Reply

  20. Michelle Cummings
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 17:38:23

    what a wonderful party!
    I love your creations!

    Hope you’ll come visit mine and my post(s) for all of October!
    http://faeriedustdreams-michelle.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  21. Sylvia Smiser
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 21:07:07

    What a cute party! I enjoyed all the guests. I do hope you will come visit my guests at my Halloween blog party. I have a giveaway to join also if you are interested.
    http://anaboocreationsbysylvia.blogspot.com

    Reply

  22. Lyndy Ward
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 21:15:57

    I ventured back because I was tooooo early on the 16th…

    This is sooooo much fun!!!
    Spooktacular blog & PICs.
    Please fly by for my giveaways too…
    Hauntingly Yours, Lyndy

    My Haunted Halloween Party Link:
    http://bit.ly/dho880
    TODAYSGOLD
    http://todaysgold.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  23. Rodica
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 14:32:40

    Oh, so many treats at your party! I would take one of each :)

    Reply

  24. Annabelle
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 21:03:27

    That was a long ride….11 days…. Oh my! Anyway, nice to finally have landed here….Adorable Hedwig, would have to be my favourite. I luv owls. Cute story and those Witches fingers…are they sweets ?

    I’m having a draw for a little something for HALLOWEEN OCTOBER 31ST so do drop in for a little while.

    ( http://thewoodbeyondtheworld.blogspot.com/ )

    
•*´¨*.•*´¨*~^..^~*Annabelle.•*´¨*.•* *

    Reply

  25. dwhirsch
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 21:04:31

    A Note From the Host: To everyone who has visited my Halloween party site from A Fanciful Twist, know that the costume contest winner will be announced on Sunday, that bootiful day of Halloween.
    –Sehlat

    Reply

  26. Champ
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 09:04:07

    Great party! Everyone looked great! Dotters gets my vote for best costume. He’s a cute firefighter! :o)

    Reply

  27. Bev
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 12:39:04

    Di,
    I absolutely loved the party. What a wonderful hostess you are.
    Thanks for the laughs!!

    Love ya, Bev
    P.S. See ya black friday, Im in…..yeah!!

    Reply

  28. dwhirsch
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 20:57:24

    The winner of the costume contest is…!
    http://wp.me/pASgH-ae

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

