Di’s WordsOfWisdom for Jan. 15

“All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.”–Henry Ellis, author

I’m scrapbooking today. Off to support a local elementary school and meet the woman who introduced me to Zentangle. It started with my editor asking us writers if anyone wants to do an article in Zentangling. I immediately piped up to the challenge: “I’ll do it!”

Then I asked myself, What the h-e-double-hockey-sticks is Zentangle?

Simply put, it’s doodling. You take a blank sheet of paper, draw lines on it (strings) to create some freeform pattern. In each of the spaces, you doodle (tangle).

This creation was in response to a weekly challenge at a ZenT-related blog I discovered:
Iamthedivaczt.blogspot.com
Challenge #4 was Stars.
 

That is a really cool song posted on that site. It ispired me to draw outside the box…or at least off the page edges. I did this over the span of a couple of days, just a bit here and there. That was an interesting process.

Here’s how my Zentangle began:

 
Here’s my Zentangle in progress:

 

And here is my finished Zentangle:

 
 
 

 

Pretty cool, huh?
You’ll see more of these in the future.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

