Another Zentangle moment

How often do we start with something, hit an oops! spot, and then finish liking the adventure?

I find this a lot in scrapbooking, and now in my recent obsession of Zentangle. I see other scrapbookers work and work to get the border or title at just the perfect angle and then their hand slips as the adhesive side hits paper. Sometimes they are stamping an image and it gets off kilter, and I hear the frustration grrrroooannnn across the room.

I took a class with Tim Holtz at the 2010 Great Lakes Mega Meet scrapbook convention. His art is a shabby chic where you embrace “mistakes” that you only think you have. I so enjoy his (and other) vintage line of products. I never thought I would be attracted to that look. Maybe it was his attitude and experimentation that appealed to me. After that class, it’s amazing how much I have relaxed and stopped working towards that magazine quality layout–not that I ever really did that, yet I would not object to having my work published!

And so I play around with Zentangles. It can be as relaxing or as stressful as you make it. It’s meant to be relaxed doodling, but you can feel intimidated by the outstanding artwork others create. Let yourself go. Be kind to yourself and enjoy the ride.

To keep my creativity fresh, I have found a weekly challenge from a CZT’s blog. This week’s challenge #6 is to create a tangle using the Ixorus pattern. This is what I created:

(If you want to see more detail, click on the image.)

Now pause here and enjoy the view. I will explain my thrill, but I don’t want to bias your initial interpretation. Admire. Breathe. Examine. Breathe again.
.
.
.
One joy is that you should read something different out of it no matter what direction you view it. I had a string planned in my mind all week. Funny how the mind works…. The “top” and “bottom” of this piece is not how I created it, but this view slammed into me with meaning. I am transported back to my childhood neighborhood and Pittsburgh’s Allegheny Observatory in Riverview Park. There is the hill, a tree at the top, and there I am, fascinated, looking at the stars from behind the stone wall.

Happy mistake! I just want to cry.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 22:59:55

    bee-yoo-tee-ful!!

    Reply

  2. heinani
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 15:25:46

    Whispering ~ admiration

    Reply

  3. Terri
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 08:36:56

    Love your descriptions that go along with this Zentangle.

    Reply

  4. Christina Vandervlist
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 21:14:37

    Marvelous the way simple lines can evoke entire scenes, isn’t it?

    Reply

  5. Kit @ Dreamscribe
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 08:03:58

    A piece of our Selves seems to go into every Zentangle creation, doesn’t it?! I loved what you wrote. Very evocative. A special ‘looking back in time with fondness’ piece of artwork. :)

    Reply

  6. dwhirsch
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 20:03:04

    A piece of our Selves…you are so right, Kit.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

