THON: For The Zen

Happy Valentine’s Day! Love. All things love.
Love Belongs Here.

Diva’s Challenge #9 touched my heart this day. Use her newly-designed leaf-shaped tangle called Artoo. It struck me as a diamond just as my thoughts turn to the week of THON. This post opens a week-long tribute to THON. Come visit again to read more.

Penn State University’s Dance Marathon–lovingly called THONsteps onto the BJC floor this Friday, February 18…the exact same day as last year when I danced again. Penn State students (and 4 honored alumni) stand awake for 46 hours to help children with cancer. It’s a breathless moment, all two days of it.

I was there last year, and here’s proof!
Check out Pre-THON photo #36.”

(the picture is on the right, third row from bottom) I’m the second red cap, smiling my head off, carrying a green bag. The blonde woman front and center is another alumni dance. You can’t see my dance partner, but she’s right there. Dancers walk from the orientation in the Athletic Building to the THON dance floor in the Bryce Jordan Center through a “human tunnel” of supporting high-fiving students and believers. Yes, there was snow that day. Yes, we walked about a quarter mile in shorts and shirts. Nope, we did not feel a thing except the excitement rushing through our bodies.

Make no mistake, this is work. This is the world’s largest student-run philanthropy. Last year, we raised $7.83 million dollars. That’s right. In this economy, that number reflects and increase of $340,000 over the 2009 total. This money assists children treated at Penn State Hershey Children’s Hospital. It pays for uninsured expenses. It pays for housing costs so that families can stay with the children undergoing cancer treatment. Together. Without Limits.

One weekend a year, everyone comes out to play!

As an alum in “the real world,” I had to drive back to school, courtesy of my beloved husband who chauffeured me. My dance partner flew in from the northwestern United States. Neither one of us could get there fast enough!

Keep in mind that I actually woke up about 8am Friday morning to meet my dance partner for breakfast, which makes the waking time really 54+ hours. The BJC holds 16,000 people–Prince, Garth Brooks and Bon Jovi have played there–and before 2pm on Sunday, the building will be at capacity and the doors will be shut for the last hours.

This is what THON looks like:

THON 2010: Love Belongs Here

With all this swirling around me, this challenge was just what I needed to express THON. This is Challenge #9…take 18 and 1+8=9…I am the 9th post on Diva’s site….

This art is a reflection of all that THON is and what it means to me.
Support, uncertainty, wishes, frustration, hope, disbelief, belief. Strength. Courage. Honesty. Wisdom.
…and a touch of magic tossed in!

As of this posting, it is 3 days, 16 hours, 27 minutes and 48 seconds until THON. (Yes, I updated that number just before I hit “publish.”)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daniele O'Brien (Danni)
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 02:47:25

    Love this tangle, it’s such a wonderful combination of patterns. Good luck at THON, sounds like a great event!

    Reply

  2. Kit @ Dreamscribe
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 03:00:04

    Definitely a touch of magic in there!! Lovely!

    Reply

  3. Christina Vandervlist
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 11:14:10

    The THON sounds super fun and for a gracious cause. I enjoyed this tile; it embodies a party!

    Reply

  4. Lois Heinani Stokes
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 14:38:19

    Whispering Party ~ Breathe in the fun ~ and when you exhale ~ send it out around the world ~ for healing cancer

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Tweets that mention THON: For The Zen « Wolf Howlings -- Topsy.com
  6. Susan Stewart
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 10:16:22

    Great tangle! It’s wonderful how each of the patterns flows so nicely into the next……

    Reply

  7. EVA
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 07:43:00

    Great creation and I hope you have a fabulous THON!!!

    It sounds like an incredible event!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

