Dominatrix Di?? Not…well…WoW

“I was always looking outside myself for strength and confidence but it comes from within. It is there all the time.”~Anna Freud, psychoanalyst

Is there some dominatrix to me? Well…uh…let’s just say not this week. For the Zentangle Challenge, that is.

Use your non-dominant hand to tangle. That’s not so tough. I dabbled with ambidexterosity in high school trying to impress a guy I liked who was. I gave it up after 2 weeks because he didn’t seem to notice me. What a waste…for him.

So I can do this. Drew my string with my left hand. And then I realized how un-lefthanded I really am.

I can’t draw much of a straight line with my right hand, and less so with my left. At first I was annoyed. Then I let go and played. I liked the incompleteness. It felt like a first draft, choppy and chunky. It had a good air to it. Then I got tired. I was bored going slow. You can tell places where I just hurried through to finish that area. I was annoyed that everything was crooked. Wonder Woman Right Hand kept trying to leap in and save the day, and my left had to slap it away. I just wanted it done, and Right is right.

And what do I do with that right hand? Where the h-e-double-hockey-sticks do I put it? I couldn’t lean on it. I couldn’t brace myself with it. It kept twitching to reach for the pen. I would have been better chopping it off. Well, not really, but it felt like a good option at the time.

Here’s what I created:


“Easy” is misunderstood. I drew tangles I knew, so I felt comfy there. It would be easy. I tried a new one, Printemps. Oh, that’s easy: swirls and a solid background. I got frustrated coloring and coloring the black in, slipping the pen into the swirls and mussing them up. Frustration is easy. And yet, while the details may be squiggly, when looked at from afar, it’s a pleasing design. Interesting. I thought the detail was in the details, but this shows me to look at things differently.

Of course, every challenge has a happy ending. Today’s ABC After-school Special lesson is: I can do anything. (Toot, toot says the Little Engine.) That and my left hand cramps easily.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Daniele O'Brien (Danni)
    Mar 20, 2011 @ 17:38:22

    I like your result and I’m really impressed with your blacks… I couldn’t keep my hand steady enough to fill in those areas well. Your lines are playful and fun.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

