Zentangle challenge #32: art show

I love a good challenge, and what a fabulous opportunity Diva’s #32 brings. Carol Ohl has generously offered to share her upcoming art show with us Zentangle enthusiasts.  This challenged used four pre-determined tangles, and it only adds to the excitement when I learn new patterns.

To get used to the look and feel of these new designs, my first tile was a practice one, and it is the first I’ve stopped midway. The tangle Keenees reminded me of the Star Trek Federation insignia. I couldn’t get it out of my head. A tangle to create and work on in the future. I made some notes on the back and started tile #2.

I loved the flow of Pais, so I went with that. Zedbra itself seemed too striking to me, so I incorporated it into that tangle.

I was pleased with the result, but I wasn’t done.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

I wanted to do more with Keenees and Zedbra, so I focused on that. Of course, as I tangled, Keenees started to look like the Klingon Empire insignia. I am on some sci-fi high right now.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

It’s a different look, and I’m glad I experimented. From these two, I knew what felt good to me. This is the piece I am sending to Carol for her art show.


It mixes the best of the bolder patterns with the subtle touches of Baton to set off the striking contrast nicely, if I do say so myself. (And I just did.) My husband liked this one best, too, so two thumbs up from this Michigan household.

I wonder where my tile will end up after this?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carole Ohl
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 05:03:14

    Great, Diana! I’m looking forward to seeing your tile in person!

    Reply

  2. Tangled Tranquility
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 05:07:51

    Great exploration of the possibilities – they would all be great to send. It always amazes me the variety that comes from limitations. Great post.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

