My relationship with food

I hate eating food. Soft protein, like ground beef or scrambled eggs, gets stuck in my braces. Hard, crunchy foods like carrots and apples hurt my teeth. Healthy, delish snacks like popcorn get stuck between my teeth, and that’s tough to remove because, well, the braces are there. Have I told you lately that I hate my braces?

I do, however, like this week’s Diva Zentangle challenge. These prompts always give me a new perspective on this lovely art.  Often a Zentangle begins with the dots and border close to the edges. This week we are challenged to make a small border, far from the edges, and tangle around it making a tile within a tile. Like my braces.

My string. Notice the small square in the middle.

 However, just like these braces, this was a challenge.  I chose sharp contrasting tangles for the outside and milder ones inside. I’ve had two students now who did Crescent Moon in this 3D way so I tried it.  Gosh, that came out well. No wonder they liked it so much.  I also used Ahh which just makes me smile. I love, love, love it. For some reason, I never use that tangle and it’s so fun.  So many of my tangles blend and weave into each other.  I look for ways to do that everytime, and I was pleased with this one.

My completed tile-in-a-tile

Despite all this, I didn’t like my result at first, even with shading.  That cute little box didn’t pop like I’d hoped it would. When I shaded the rest of the tile, I liked it more, but the critic in me still sighed. I must remember that any Zentangle is priceless.  The end result is good.  Just like my teeth will be. Someday. Some day. (Except there is a hefty pricetag attached to these pearly-whites-to-be. It’s expensive to be priceless.)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martha
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 05:14:43

    Well… I like it. In fact, I think it’s a very lovely interpretation of the challenge! I like doing Crescent Moon that way, too. My little box didn’t pop out either but I’ll try another one today. Good luck with the braces.

    Reply

  2. Margaret
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 10:22:09

    That little ‘mini-tile’ is having a fun time playing hide-and-seek! If you want it to pop more, try dark tangles outside and pale ones inside, or vice versa.
    I’ve had a couple of students to Crescent Moon that way too, and it’s a really interesting variation.
    Nice work!
    –Margaret

    Reply

  3. Terrie in Seattle
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 06:04:37

    Diana
    Thanks for visiting – I’m so new at Zentangle, that every site I visit is just packed with inspiration and great ideas. I hadn’t seen the crescent moon pattern before so your variation was very interesting and pop art looking. I’ve added it to my “pattern book” and will be trying it out!

    Reply

  4. Karen Lynn
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 17:15:30

    I like doing crescent moon that way too, and yours looks great. I also really like the tangle you used in the upper left.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

