Oopsi…? Naah.

Curse my inner Virgo!

I wasn’t satisfied with my first tile in this challenge. (I haven’t even read any comments on that post yet; I’m too annoyed with myself.) I’m annoyed that I didn’t feel like I “got it,” I’m frustrated that I’m annoyed and I am stubborn enough to “get it” right.

That’s useless, of course. So many times and so many things we think are worthless or wrong really aren’t. I mean, think about your life. How many times have you’ve said “Oops!” only to have the end result turn out well? I don’t even want to count the number of times I have–and that’s not counting this challenge! Yet, that’s the great thing about Zentangle. Sure, we all know those Life moments, but creating a Zentangle forces you to do something about it right now, even if all that is is acceptance.

I know these challenge tiles are beautiful, this and the three before. Did they all meet the challenge in my eyes? No, but that doesn’t take away their value. My husband looks at these, turns them around and comments on specific aspects that he likes. He’s not as fond of the “smudging” that I do, but he really likes when I create a 3D look, like on tile-in-tile #4:

He saw the square in the middle, but I was pleased with the result even before that. His compliment was just reinforcement, and that was nice. We need to like [whatever] for ourselves, but it’s always a sweet thing when others affirm that.

He also cooked me French toast for breakfast, complete with powdered sugar. Now that’s sweet!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danni O'Brien
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 05:53:12

    Your blue on blue is lovely, lot’s of depth and movement. A cool oasis during these hot summer days!

    Reply

  2. Melissa C.
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 18:53:04

    Neat tile!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

