Di’s Birthday Week: Day 4

I can never understand why people take their birthdays off from work.  Me, I want to be working.  I want to answer the “How are you today?” question with “Great, thanks, today is my birthday.”  It’s a wonderful way to get well wishes, and anyone who knows me knows that I am not shy about such things. 

AB Seasons: Trick or Treat, board 1

Today was a day of pictures. For my latest Michigan Scrapbooker article, I uploaded some recent ATCs pics and sent them off. I discovered my love for drawing again, and here is one of my faves that someone will get in the AFA’s Angry Birds Swap:

Linda called and scheduled a breakfast date tomorrow before I leave for the big game. My husband ran a “sp errand.” :) I opened birthday presents from my friend, Deb, that I’d been saving until now. Fun scrapbooking gifts! My husband’s gift that was supposed to arrive via overnight seems to be lost in transit or just plain lost. Amazon and UPS customer service has been wonderful!

Today I also gave myself a gift: a Zentangle. I’ve been looking for an excuse to do a monotangle, and this week’s Diva Challenge was just that: do a tile of just Paradox. I love Paradox! Like Mooka, it’s easy to do and fill a space quickly. Like Mooka, it looks really cool. Like Mooka, you need a steady hand to do long, straight lines…and that I’m not always good at. Patience: sometimes I have it, sometimes I don’t. (And now I’m singing commercial jingle “sometimes you feel like a nut; sometimes you don’t.”  So are you, I bet.)

I feel confident about it, so I experiemented on 2 tiles. On the first, I used pens of different width. I didn’t like the look, but it has potential. Of course, now that I see it again, I like it more. It’s such a great pattern. So few steps, just one line, and it has that WOW effect when anyone looks at it. Especially all together. I started a tangle in the center, but after a few lines, I liked the open space. A nice touch to break up the busyness and give the eye a rest.

That said, I moved onto the second tile and just had fun. I know there are ways to get different design and flowing patterns and I will make time to play. For now, it’s time for sleep. Busy, busy (birth)day tomorrow…!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tinkered Art
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 22:34:41

    happy birthday – love the free form of the second tangle – love the mystery of where it will go.

    Reply

  2. Danni O'Brien
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 03:56:41

    Happy Birthday to youuuu! Really enjoy your negative space play on both. Nice job.

    Reply

  3. Shelly Beauch
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 16:13:13

    Happy Birthday! Happy Tangling!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

