Di’s PennState WoW for October 29

As I revel…or shiver…in Beaver Stadium, there is no place like Penn State that exemplifies this quote:

“A school without football is in danger of deteriorating into a medieval study hall.”~ Vince Lombardi, American football coach.

Ahhhh, don’t get me wrong. Penn State is an exceptional educational institution. However, as an alum, State College is one cool town to party in. And Halloween weekend on a college campus is…well, the human-size walking penis costume two years ago says it all.

Can Joe Paterno surpass former Grambling State head coach Eddie Robinson to become the winningest coach in Divison 1 sports and second winningest overall? The #409 victory will do that, and I hope that day is today here against Illinois. I was in the stands to see JoePa’s 200th win. My husband-then-boyfriend and I saw 324 when he passed Paul “Bear” Bryant in 2001 to become the winningest coach in NCAA Division I-A. (Thanks forever to my dear friend Deb for those tickets!) We saw #400 last year, an impressive milestone of wins.

This never mattered until I met my husband. He’s the alum with the football pride. Me, I like rah-rah cheering the team, bouncing in the stands to zombie chants of “We Are…” and listening to fight songs played by the Blue Band. I introduced him to the wonder-full world of Disney; he ignited my passion for Penn State and football. A fair trade.

Of course, I do appreciate experiences and historical events.
Today…stay tuned for the 3:30pm ET game
Go State!

I leave you with a final nugget of wisdom, appropriate for anytime:

“People who work together will win, whether it be against complex football defenses, or the problems of modern society.”~Vince Lombardi

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

