Di’s Wow WoW for November 9–Nano and more

It is a sad time in the Penn State realm. ‘Nuff said at this point.

“If you wish to be a writer, write.”~Epictetus, Greek Stoic philosopher

In a whirlwind of reckless abandon, I started over in my Nano writing, leaving my Jasmine story as just another saved file on my computer. Jasmine is a great character, one born from this year’s Ann Arbor Book Festival. A workshop instructor gave an in-class assignment to write a scene using use our own character. If we didn’t have one, she would give us one, so I asked her for one. Off the top of her head, she gave me Jasmine and a few traits. I was inspired. After class, I asked if Jasmine was a character the instructor was working with. She said no, so I have claimed her as my own! Fascinating 17 year old in love with antiques and her best friend’s boyfriend, but I don’t know what I want to do with her.

As I fell asleep monday night’s Write-In, I replayed a scene from “some novel” of mine, something familiar to calm my mind. It hit me: write that story! Jasmine had no outline; I was going to let her take me where she wanted. Without any roadmap, however, I was lost. This novel, what I am tentatively calling my Dragon War Story, is something I have outlined in my head for years, dare I say maybe decades. I am finally putting that story into words on paper. Words in an electronic file saved several places is a more accurate description, but you get it.

Is this foolish, to change a story eight days in, down 11,669 words? Perhaps, but I love a challenge.

This is something I am passionate about and it shows:
Jasmine word count for Days 1-7: 2048 (deleted)
Dragon War Story word count for two days: 4627

I Rock!

Care to share your thoughts?

