Dragons and coffee and nothing, oh my!

Just finished a marathon Write-In at the locala Panera with fellow NaNoWriMotowners. Okay, it was 2 hours, but that’s still a sizable chunk of time and typing. According to my current word count, I will finish on January 12, 2012. That’s much better than last week’s February 2012 prediction and way much better than the April 12, 2012 outlook when I first submitted words. So I sit here, having just introduced my dragon to the novel, Speedway cappuccino by my side…and I can’t think of a single thing to write.

I’m tapped out from my word count today, but I have to submit a piece for my wednesday writer’s group. “Have to?” you may ask. “YES!” I reply. I want my memoir written and published, but it will never even get to the edit stage without those typed words. This is a classy group of writers with strong comments. I like that. No, I love that. I get nothing out of a comment such as “I like this (whatever ‘this’ is).” When someone instead critiques with a “I was confused here and suggest you add or delete this (whatever ‘this’ is).” Concrete. Specific. That makes good critique and good writing.

Now to move on from procrastination to finish that piece.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

