THON past and Zentangle today

It’s been two weeks since my braces came off.   My teeth still  hurt.  The retainer is cumbersome, but yesterday I had my teeth whitened.  Zoom whitening.  If you’ve never had it done, it goes like this:  A horse-style chomping bit is shoved into your mouth.  A bleach gel is brushed on the front of your teeth and you sit under some super duper heat lamp for 15 minutes until the gel is rinsed off and reapplied two more times. For some reason, I expected the back of the teeth to be done.  Yeah, you can’t see them, but still. 

No one told me about the sensitivity.  You know that shiver you get when biting into an ice cream cone or sno cone and the cold just smacks your teeth?  That was what the post-whitening sensitivity was like, except it was constant.  It hurt to breathe.

It’s silly to be so concerned about something as simple as this.  Elective, in fact, something I did not need to do.  Perspective.  The pain in my teeth is gone today.  The pain that Four Diamonds families feel dealing with cancer never goes away.

Perspective changes over time.  Now that you’ve read about my most recent 2010 THON adventures  and line dance, let’s step back in time and read about my first experience.  The 40 years of THON is being celebrated over at The THON Blog, and when they asked for submissions of experiences from previous dancers and committee members, I submitted mine.  Talk about time machine.  Look at what beverage was a sponsor and what the newspaper printed in Friday’s paper.  Want to know about food and bathroom breaks?  Follow the link for answers to those questions and so much more.

Since that post is chock full o’ pictures, I’ll post one of my Zentangle tiles I’ll be donating.  I was sick at the beginning of the week, and I think my first tiles reflect that. I so wanted to use Florz.  I often leave the diamonds open anyway, giving them a delicate, crystal look.  I’ve tried twice now but can’t get the feeling right.  This is my tile for Thursday.  There are elements I like, some I don’t.  Perhaps I’m watching too many pre-THON videos.  Perhaps I’m feeling too literal these days.  Maybe there’s so much more to this because it is my challenge.  I can often spend a lot of time creating a Zentangle, but I gave myself a time limit.  When my alarm went off, I was done, finish what I was currently doing, shade and sign.  I’m picky about it, but I’m sure a family will treasure it.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ledenzer
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 16:22:23

    I am sure they will love it, it is a story of zentangle!

    Reply

  2. Cindy Straight
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 05:23:12

    I really love how you incorporate the words into your tangle. I’m sure that it will be someone’s very special treasure.

    Reply

  3. Sue
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 05:59:42

    Lovely!

    Reply

  4. Danni O'Brien
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 06:38:21

    Very whimsical and lovely! The open diamonds really work.

    Reply

  5. karen woodbine
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 05:58:08

    Very pretty!

    Reply

  6. Martha
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 06:41:17

    I appreciate the challenge (even though I wasn’t able to participate because of work and school work) and your tile is perfect… if I may be so bold as to give you my impression/interpretation – the “incompleteness” seems to be fitting and cannot be completed until the cure for cancer is found and made available to all. The heart is a perfect representation of how much courage (the root is Latin for heart) it takes to fight this fights. Thank you again. I have loved looking at all the diamonds! hope the marathon was fun!

    Reply

  7. Martha
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 06:42:06

    Obviously this was meant for the other page – but I couldn’t get that one to load… love this one, too.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

