WoW! THON On: Day one.

“To dance is to be out of yourself. Larger, more beautiful, more powerful. This is power, it is glory on earth and it is yours for the taking. “~Agnes de Mille, American dancer

Notice the countdown?

My 1991 Academic Planner

THON 2012 begins at 6:00pm Eastern time.  Go dancers!!  Get out there and Brighten Every Journey you take this weekend!

This weekend is as much about the families as it is the dancers.  Moreso, in fact, because the dancers are there For The Kids and their families.  When I emailed the Family Relations chair about Zentangle art donations, I received this lovely response:

“Thanks so much for reaching out and planning something special for the Four Diamonds families! It is amazing to hear back from previous dancers and volunteers! I will respond to your email after this weekend and we can discuss this potential donation further. Again thank you so much for thinking of us and the families. We really appreciate the support!”
 
This weekend is all about the families, but I got this different perspective reading a post on the PennState Live news website.  After all, students, alumni, sponsors, donors and so many more are excited about THON.  With all this positive energy seeping around, it never occurred to me that some Four Diamonds families would not share that enthusiasm. Aren’t all the families excited as we are?  Not always, not at first.  Negativity for THON?  After reading just that one passage, I understand why, but no one ever talks about this.  I never thought of it that way.  All I know is the positive and let my pride and excitement shine through today. 
The tile I did today, I could have obsessed over it, but I tangled for as long as the clothes dryer cycle lasted.  I’m somewhat unsatisfied with the result as yesterday, maybe because I’m feeling fumpy today, but I do see the positives in it.  At first glance, it looks incomplete, but then not. I’m Honest enough to say that I am still not thrilled with the tangle Pendrills, but I wanted a border.  I have the Wisdom to know why I don’t like it as much as others–to my eye, it’s too stick-like, too straight, too choppy.  I need to work on an interpretation of it that suits me, but I haven’t found that yet.  Still, I had the Courage to use it, to jump out of my comfort zone for these challenges–even mine!  I need to find the Strength to relax and let it flow.  If the Kids and dancers can find those qualities within themselves then so can I.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ledenzer
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 16:23:22

    I love the heart in the center of the diamonds! All those traits would be lost without love!

    Reply

  2. Danni O'Brien
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 06:36:50

    Great thoughts and challenge Diana, love getting a peek into your process and journal. Well done!

    Reply

  3. Hope Johnson Martin
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 17:15:17

    Love reading about your thoughts on your tangle. Thanks for sharing! My kids and I participated in the four diamond challenge over at iamthedeviaczt site and would love to donate our tangles. Just need to know how. Thanks!

    Reply

  4. Meghna patel
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 18:26:24

    Lovely thought and I agree with Ledenzer, the heart is the centre that’s keeping all the traits together.
    Thank you for sharing

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

