Leap into a tangled WoW for Feb. 29

“We convince with our presence.”~Walt Whitman, American poet

I realized today that, without my braces, I can eat BBQ ribs again.
Maybe that was inspired by the rare Leap Day of February 29?

Today I got away from my desk and sat down with a decaf vanilla latte in my favorite local Starbucks to work on the Diva’s weekly challenge #60.  Sixty!?!  Already?  Wow, it does not feel that long. By the way, for those tanglists who participated in my guest Challenge #58, I want to share the accomplishment of THON 2012.  Penn State students raised…are you ready?…

$10,686,924.83. 

Yes, you read that number right.  In 365 days, students alone raised over $10.5 million dollars, an amount that is $1 million more than 2011.  I am breathless from that and for the support the Zentangle community has shown. Thank you, thank you from the top of my heart and the bottoms of my feet.

When I approached the DuoTangle Challenge using Cirquital and Munchin, I could not remember the last time I used those tangles. Even as I type this, I cannot think of a reason not to use them. Since these were “new” tangles to me, I was excited by the challenge. A bit rusty, I came up with a tile that was somewhat straightforward but fun to do. I varied each tangle slightly, enough to keep me interested, while keeping strictly within the wacky string I drew.  It was not a good string for these tangles, and maybe that’s part of my reluctance to these tangles.  Perhaps I have never known the best way to use these in my art.  Now I think of all the ways I want to vary the tangles. I’ll get more inspiration as I roam everyone’s websites, but this immediately left me all kinds of creative and wanting more.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ledenzer
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 03:31:56

    The arms of citguital and munchin are a couple of patterns I had not used often either. I feel that you did a wonderful job with this challenge. You did not play it safe. I think your different variations of cirquital are inspiring. Munching looks so smooth and gem like the way your lines are steady and true!

    Reply

  2. Danni O'Brien
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:33:44

    The variations are working for ya! Nice job! Glad the Thon did so well!

    Reply

  3. Lynne N
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 18:55:11

    oh neat.

    Reply

  4. Lynne N
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 18:57:13

    Typed the web page wrong above

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

