WoW: Happy One Year ATC to me…!


.
“You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.”~Plato, Greek philosopher
.
.
.
.
Today marks one year that I have been a member of the ATCsForAll forum.  In this time, I have created some amazing artist trading cards.  I’ve become more comfortable with drawing again.  I paint again.  My collagework is more sophisticated. I adore the challenge of macro photography. Curious about all my creations?  Check out my AFA gallery.  Go on, be dazzled.
.
On this forum, you can trade cards that you independently make or challenge yourself with a themed swap. I’ve played in swaps such as “Disney Dogs,” “Owls,” “Zentangle alphabet,” “Mazes,” and “Monochromatic color.”  You make three cards and receive three random cards from other players in return.  I do both, but as a mewbie (my word), I only did swaps.  I was afraid or unsure about my talent, of placing my art out there and hoping someone will like it enough to want it.  This is a welcoming community and I am confident knowing that my work does appeal to others, more than I would have thought.
.
No matter what, I will NEVER give up my monthly Bizarre Holidays swap.  Those are just too darn fun.  These are actual holidays celebrated nationally or internationally.  (See Ratcatcher’s Day below.)  My husband even looks forward to these cards.  He sees the familiar envelope from Australia and says, “Looks like some bizarre ATCs.”
.
I have met talented artists worldwide who expose me to new types of media to play with.  I still don’t know how to use beeswax or to do photo transfers, but I now know those intriguing techniques are out there to experiment with.  In Andy Warhol style, who would think to make an ATC with soda pop tabs?
.
I’m showing off some of my favorite cards I created.  While compiling the pictures, I took inventory of my activity on the AFA forum in the past year.  Rather impressive if I do say so myself, and since I just did, it is, therefore, impressive. As of this post:
.
Cards received in trades and swaps:  259 (almost a card every 1.5 days, or 5 cards each week)
.
Additional cards I traded in person: 10
.
My iTrader rating: 131
.
ATC swaps played and completed: 57 (that averages one a week!)
.
Swaps I hosted: 2 (the second concludes this week)
.
Forum posts: 820 (that’s 2.24 per day)
.
Countries I have received cards from:  13 (the most popular being Canada, Australia, and The Netherlands)
.
States I know I have received cards from: 36
.
Number of “first” cards received: at least 2; perhaps as many as 5
.
Other trades – chunkies: 6
.
Other mail art items: 2 coffee cup sleeves………………..1 set of inchies
………………………………1 Happy Halloween banner…….1 bookmark
………………………………1 deco book (currently in rotation)
.

Care to share your thoughts?

