All tangled up in Life and Death

“All the art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on.”~Havelock Ellis, British psychologist

I was feeling a bit morbid last week after the death of my Aunt Virginia, hence recent death WoWs, so this week I celebrate Life.  Ironic, actually, since a family search yesterday turned up the recent obit of a long-lost cousin.

This week’s Diva’s Challenge 64 used a defined string to tangle inside.  Just like a Zentangle Basics class, only a twist on childhood.  The shape is reminiscent of a “fortuneteller” paper toy that you open and close with your hands.  I never knew of it by that name, but “cootie catcher” from Wikipedia sounds more familiar.  Oh, the third grade fun!  Makes me want to go and make one right now, but I’ll tangle my tile first.

I was inspired by our first player’s tile, her griddy one.  (She reads this blog and I’ll be happy to add her direct link here, but only if she gives me permission.)  I’ve always wanted to play around with an all-grid Zentangle; you know, one of those oh, I’ll get around to it ideas.  This was perfect inspiration.

Using all-grid patterns on a grid pattern sounds easier than it is.  I still try to blend tangles together, a technique that is so obvious but blew me away at the CZT workshop.  I didn’t quite achieve the result I was looking for, but I adore it.  After all, who can really plan a Zentangle?

Stay tuned for a flowy one later this week.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Ammerman
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 10:40:42

    Great job blending the different tangles together. Fantastic! :)

    Reply

  2. BabyGirl
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 13:21:27

    You’ve done a lovely job with the griddy-ness of your tile. Several of those are my favorites.

    Reply

  3. ledenzer
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 14:51:05

    I really enjoy the different moods that come across as your eye moves around the string!

    Reply

  4. Joni Feddersen
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 15:30:56

    Super blending going on here! Wonderful!

    Reply

  5. Karen Lynn
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 19:10:41

    I used all grids on my first tile also. This challenge really lends itself to that. Your tile turned out great.

    Reply

  6. Sue J
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 19:52:31

    I like how you’ve managed to blend the designs.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

