Can an outline be interesting? Yes.

“I am always ready to learn although I do not always like being taught.”~Winston Churchill, former Prime Minister of Great Britain

So true in life, so true with Zentangle. Today it’s about Zentangle. Of course, any Zentangle is about life, too. The Diva’s weekly challenge is to focus on auras. I enjoy auras, enhancements like an outline or dots surrounding a tangle. It’s similar to having a border on a photo when scrapbooking, or inking the edges to make it pop. Auras add depth, fullness, interest and mystery. Cool visual stuff.

I resisted the temptation to use the easy, obvious tangles like Crescent Moon and Bales. I took a nod from Laura’s challenge and opted not to use Tripoli even though I’ve rediscovered the delight of it lately. She did an excellent Tripoli despite her comments, and I have yet to play with it enough to feel creative with it. I’m teaching a class Thursday, so I wanted simple with this challenge. I pulled out a pre-strung tile and went to work.

Struggle One: I’m working on a Zentangle Ensemble, and I pulled out a tile with three straight lines as the string. I almost put it back, but this is simple. The challenge is: how do I make it intriguing?

Struggle Two: I started with Pokeroot (second from bottom) and it did not turn out at all as mentally planned. Then the auras didn’t work to my satisfaction. Ugh. Where do you go from disappointment?

Struggle Three: You go right into more disappointment. I struggle to master Opus (bottom) to my satisfaction, and it is a tangle I adore. Laura does a good job on her tile, by the way; maybe that’s where I got the idea. Here I am forcing auras on things and I’m just not satisfied.

Then I noticed how things seemed to radiate from the corner and I ran with that. I followed the string and blurred the lines of that and then blurred those with auras and more auras. I was still forcing auras but I was playing again. In the end I have a tile with no beginning or end. Auras help things flow together, which is exactly what they did for me here.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ledenzer
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 09:56:48

    What a gorgeous tangle!

    Reply

  2. Gloria J Zucaro
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 14:24:58

    very organic. bulbs, roots, things emerging, thorns, water underneath the ground!

    Reply

  3. Alice
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 20:42:49

    i like the way it flows and runs like a river across and up your tile :) pretty creative and artistic!

    Reply

  4. Sue
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 05:10:22

    Your tile is lovely and organic. Good choice of tangles, and I really appreciate and enjoy hearing about your struggles and thoughts through the process.

    Reply

  5. Amy in TN
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 16:47:16

    My thoughts on your tile: something fantastic is rising up out of the sea! I can’t say what it is, but it possesses great energy and a mystical presence.
    It IS intriguing (in response to struggle 1), and I would love to see how this piece looks with the entire ensemble.

    Reply

  6. dwhirsch
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:13:38

    I will be sure to post my entire ensemble when it’s done.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!