To learn or not to learn…?

“The only Zen you can find on the tops of mountains is the Zen you bring up there.”~Robert M. Pirsig, American author (Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance)

I taught a Zentangle class tonight, probably the last one before Mega Meet. It was an intimate class, but those can be just as delightful as larger ones.

Expect the unexpected. Taught at my certification workshop, classes are intended to be quiet, peaceful events with students getting lost in their lines and soft music. I’m learning that the dynamics of classes do not often turn out that way. I often wonder, is it a failure on my part when the atmosphere is not that way? I’m learning that answer is: nope. There is learning from me, but there is a lot of learning from each other as comments are shared and tangle details noted. I’m learning to expect the unexpected, to step back and let it all happen.

Look at the mosaics from my students tonight. One commented “I didn’t think I would like that pattern, but with shading, now I do.” Aren’t they clever creative folk? *insert little girl squeal* I’m so proud of them. They pushed through their doubts and inner critics to create this beautiful art.

I guess I’m a good instructor after all. Let’s face it: Zentangle can be intimidating. However, if they can learn from each other, so can I. Small classes offer casual chatting, observations, encouragement and sharing thoughts. Larger classes, like Mega Meet, yield intense class mosaics. Each delight-full.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charmaine
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 19:26:32

    Great class, Diana. Can’t wait for Mega Meet. Lovely to see our zentangles on your blog. Charmaine

    Reply

  2. dwhirsch
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 14:27:34

    It’s always a joy to share the work of my students!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

