It’s 105K somewhere…want to know where?

It seems like just yesterday that my little baby was 100K miles. Today, she turned 105,000. Can you guess where we were at that mileage marker?

I mean, exactly where?

Yep, Starbucks. Right there at Ford and Lotz Roads, the same as before. We had just pulled into the parking lot. There is a reason why I am the Mayor here.  Celebratory frappuccinos for everyone!  (I got my Mocha and took a Java Chip Light home for my husband.)
.
.
“Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair.”~Khalil Gibran, Lebanese-American author

The Diva Challenge #67 was to tangle to the prompt: Earth. As soon as I read that word, the tangle Ynix popped into my head. I just used it last night on an ATC Zendala, and the leafiness of it called me. One strand of green. My string did not support this image at all, so I improvised.

The fronds came out just as I had imagined. In what I consider a stereotypical approach, I choose the remaining tangles based on the letters E-A-R-T-H: Ennies, Amaze, Rain, Tidings and Hazen.
I love doing Rain, but getting Hazen “right” has always been a challenge, which is exactly why I used it here.  The tile was taking a growth of its own and I wasn’t keen on how it was forming. I wanted flowing shapes, blending shapes because Earth to me means organic. That’s a word thrown around in my recent classes, to break away from the hard lines and make tangles flow. Flow. Let it flow. Go with the flow.

My inner critic tells me that I didn’t quite acheive it here. I kick inner critic in the butt and out of the room. It is flowing, I reply, just not as I had foreseen. This tile is too similar to last week’s challenge, inner critic says on the way out. I admit that it does have elements, and that it also reminds me of other tiles I have completed.  How unexpected but not surprising, both with my car and my Zentangle. Everything flows together.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ledenzer
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 07:51:49

    Spelling out earth in tangle patterns, what a great idea! It turned out beautifully!

    Reply

  2. Alice
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 15:51:39

    i like the one green branch in the middle – the hope of growth, the hope of future – beautiful!

    Reply

  3. dwhirsch
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 20:33:24

    Thank you both. I felt so cliche…but reading your comments, I succeeded in my work.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!