Zentangle love…and loss

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”~Dr. Seuss, American writer and cartoonist

This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge is to create a tile in memory of someone’s brother-in-law. She constructed a tangle in his honor and asked the Zentangle community to use it in their weekly challenge.

My string–big surprise–had a swirl or three in it. I left one open, untangled, because when someone close to us dies, there is a hole in our heart and in our soul. We are surrounded by loved ones, but we can’t see past that emptiness.

I understand. Seven years later, I still miss my dad and can tear up at the sight of simple reminders: soy milk or no-salt potato chips or My aunt died in March and my uncle’s house echoes with the stillness.

20120704-185548.jpg

I have asked the Zentangle community to assist with a tribute to THON, so I am honored to contribute my creation to a book she has planned for her family. Yes, you may use my image.

Even before 9-11, back when Dad became ill with his numerous conditions, I’ve made it a point to tell folks I love them, even if it’s at the end of a phone call. Remember to do the same.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie Huijts
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 23:09:05

    Lovely tile and words full of wisdom.

    Reply

  2. Ilse
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 00:47:51

    Great tile!

    Reply

  3. ledenzer
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 06:06:35

    Gorgeous tile! I love your posting!

    Reply

  4. Linda Marie
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 06:57:58

    Beautiful tile, and great words to remember.

    Reply

  5. cathy
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 08:43:02

    Having lost both parents during my life, I know just how true your words are. Your tile is lovely and so is the meaning you attach to it.

    Reply

  6. Danni O'Brien
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 17:14:45

    Diana, lovely thoughts and tile.

    Reply

  7. Shelly Beauch
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 05:10:51

    I see you have put a lot thought into your tile, thank you for the depth of thought in your words.

    Reply

  8. Deb Ammerman
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 09:30:57

    I can completely relate to your thought process on the tile you created. I lost my Mom in 2001 and the hole in my heart and soul from that loss is still very real. However, I don’t have to cry when I think of her, now I can smile… but it took a long time to get to this point. I’m sure that Rho and her family will appreciate your thoughtful tile. You did a wonderful job. :)

    Reply

  9. Kathy
    Jul 07, 2012 @ 13:33:55

    Wonderful tile and thoughts.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

