Celebrity Zentangles

“We all want to be famous people, and the moment we want to be something we are no longer free.”~Jiddu Krishnamurti, Indian writer

When I grow up, I want to be rich and famous. Maybe.

I thought about my celebrity Zentangle experience Saturday and wondered if fame and fortune is such a good thing. Paparazzi always surround you for some photograph, incriminating or not. Tabloids interpret (or misinterpret) your actions to the flocks of sheep in grocery store aisles. Scandal sells. Every fraction of your life is dissected. People interrupt your day asking for an autograph. Where is normal life?

I’ve done this hero-worship and celebrity-following myself, but more so in my younger days. The media are great storytellers, first place winners in the fiction category. Since the ravenous attack against Penn State University, I am much more suspicious of stories that do not have all the facts. But I digress…or do I?

I did not recognize this person, but everyone around me did. A wedding photographer asked for a picture with the bridal party. She politely refused, and to the photographer’s good manners, she thanked the woman and left with no further pressure. Another woman commented to me as the celebrity left. “Did you plan that?”

Plan what? These two people walked in with their children and commented on my art. I explained Zentangle to them and they moved into the store to shop.

When the kids started being kids and running around the store restless, I stopped them by showing them how to tangle. Crescent Moon, a simple half-circle tangle, is perfect for ease and concentration. I figured this would give the adults time to shop. I drew a simple string on an actual tile, treating them like adults by using “the good stuff.” Then we played.

The girl’s unusual name should have been a tipoff, but remember, I’m not hip with today’s Hollywood personalities. The kids were adorable and I got so much joy from watching them concentrate on the drawing. This is what I get out of Zentangle. The boy did it, then I asked him to share. I showed the girl how to do it and then asked her to share as well. They were at that age where they would politely follow such a request. They were also at the age where showing off a huge plastic watermelon to each other was the most amazing thing.

The girl really got into it once her turn came around again. By the time she completed the entire tile, her mother had finished shopping and was watching her.

“Where are you from?” I asked the mother, and I saw in her eyes that she realized I might not know who she was. I was absolutely tickled that the girl wanted to come back here for a class. Her mom said it was probably too long of a flight to come back for this. (Darn!)

I told the mother where to go to find a local instructor and I gave the girl the tile. The mother was genuinely pleased and gave me that wonderful unexpected warm parental “Thank You.” They left.

That’s when that person asked, “Did you plan that?”

“Who is she?” I asked.

I confirmed the mother’s identity with the store cashier who rang up the credit card sale. That’s when the hero-worship grabbed me and some tabloid snippets popped to mind. My husband googled the name and confirmed her local connections. probably the reason she was in town. Things clicked, especially the fact that someone mentioned that the tabloids had where she was so incredibly wrong.

I like to think that the mother was extra-appreciative because I was friendly to her daughter with no ulterior motive. We were two normal people having a normal conversation and being friendly just because that’s the people we are. Yes, she was very friendly, soft-spoken (except when yelling her daughter’s name) and utterly normal. That’s why I suddenly felt pity for her.

Would I want my life so under a microscope? No way. I like taking walks in public too much. I like to scrapbook at public crops, play in amusement parks, hang out in coffee shops, grocery shop, eat in restaurants and just be. I hate to shop for clothes, so how much more torturous would it be to have people waiting outside the dressing room to catch a peek of me in front of the mirror? I shiver.

Still, it’s the coolest thing to say, “I introduced and demo’d Zentangle to _____ ______ and her daughter!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tremmacyTracy Bayley from Adelaide Australia
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 19:17:32

    Love it! Especially since you didn’t say who it was. This is the reason why I never purchase or read any gossip magazine. I would hate to be under that much scrutiny.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Aug 30, 2012 @ 06:10:53

      Thank you. As a celebrity, it must be tough with rumors and conjectures and all that swirling around you. Yet you do have money to provide for your family’s education and security. There’s something to be said for both.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

