My Zentangle takes a different turn

“Just because something doesn’t do what you planned it to do doesn’t mean it’s useless.”~Thomas A. Edison, American inventor

Travel. The Illinois-Penn State game is this weekend, and I learned something unexpected. My husband is not wearing any Illinois gear. That may not sound unusual for a Penn State alum, but he got his graduate degree there, so he shows his respect. It’s a humorous experience when folks look at him, confused by his attire. He always says, “I want Penn State to win but Illinois to make it respectable.”

These days, he has no respect for the college, the athletic department specifically. They were the first vultures to land on campus when NCAA sanctions on Penn State football allowed PSU students to transfer schools without penalty. “I’ll tell anyone I’m ashamed to be an Illinois alum these days.”

The trip is still planned, and I am looking forward to the weekend for a dozen reasons that have nothing to do with a football game’s score. I must have had travel on the brain when I did the Diva Zentangle challenge 88 because I muffed it up. Or so I thought.

I’ve never liked the tangle IX, but I didn’t realize why until this challenge. It’s a bulky tangle, thick and wide, with little flexibility. Or so I thought I began the tile thinking how I could play it up and the triangles and the triangles…and without realizing it I had drawn an arrow.

20120927-004857.jpg

The tangle calls for “upside down” triangles, more like a hook at each end. An arrow. Oh great. Then it hit me: I like this look. I hadn’t made this mis-step before, but I went with it. Every line was an arrow, but then what?

Mooka suddenly seemed a natural tangle to pair it with. Then I touched it up with some dark areas and left half of it open. The tile travels, to or from depending on your perspective.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 23:04:09

    Quite nice! I like the arrows and the black space between them.

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 03:59:18

    Great minds think alike – I tried the arrow head as well, and like it! The black in between does make it stand out better. Well done.

    Reply

  3. dwhirsch
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 09:29:23

    I’m glad that worked. I love how the tangles flowed together, but I felt it needed something dramatic. Thanks! The unplanned arrows are cool!

    Reply

  4. Didisch
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 11:28:09

    Nice how you played with the endings of the IX, and make it look like arrows. Great.

    Reply

  5. ledenzer
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 18:04:40

    I love how the intermingle!

    Reply

  6. Diana Hirsch
    Sep 27, 2012 @ 23:14:18

    Thanks!  I found myself finally enjoying IX. Wonder what else I can do…?  :)

    Reply

  7. tricialee
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 09:05:17

    Love the directions that IX and Mooka take. Nicely done.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

