Blog Friendship Cup: I am a Smartie!

“Strength is the capacity to break a chocolate bar into four pieces with your bare hands – and then eat just one of the pieces.”~Judith Viorst, American writer

Detroit is just across the river from Canada. From where I live, it takes me less time to get to Windsor, Ontario than it does to Toledo, Ohio. Growing up in Pittsburgh, I crossed bridges and drove through tunnels to get to the other side. The novelty here is that the other side is a different country. On our first trip there, my husband and I sought out the local attractions. How can you resist eating at a place named Bubi’s Awesome Eats?  We couldn’t, and we discovered that the food was–and still is–awesome, especially if you like garlic. He browsed the used CD store Dr. Disc Records.   I explored both the familiar and unique specialities in the Starbucks downtown.  We left a souvenier shop with a postcard and a box of Smarties.

Only 6 Weight Watchers Point Plus!

Nestlé Smarties aren’t distributed in the United States.  Smarties here are small, hard powdery discs wrapped in a plastic roll.  I saw these chocolate confections and had to try them.  Yum!  We make a trip to Windsor at least once a year, but I haven’t had them years, until now.

Are you getting hungry?

So is this Laura saying that I’m smart? It’s another indulgence for me, that’s for sure. And what goes well with chocolate? Come back tomorrow to find out.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teeni
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 05:18:15

    Oh I wish our Smarties in the states were these chocolatey ones. No fair! So glad you got a sweet treat though! :)

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Oct 08, 2012 @ 06:22:11

      I know, I know. What a Nestlé ripoff here! Yeah, we have M&Ms but that’s not the point! Still, chocolate is chocolate. :)

      Reply

  2. ozziesmama
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 07:34:51

    AH!! i forgot to send the note that said: “Here’s what Smarties are SUPPOSED to be like” Your smarties are called “Rockets” here. I’m glad you like them.

    Reply

  3. ozziesmama
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 07:35:08

    that’s me, by the way… Laura

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

