Zentangle thoughts on the empty Blog Friendship Cup

“Immature artists imitate; mature artists steal.”~Lionel Trilling, American literary critic

The Blog Friendship Cup has finally been emptied here in Michigan. What an amazing gift it has been, starting with Day One.

When I commented on The Diva’s blog with hopes of receiving it, I wasn’t sure if it was something you drink out of. It’s not. It is an open twist and twirl of metal that is currently speckled tan. In passing it along, the cup must be altered in some way. Teeni started it by adding a decorative tag listing her blogsite. The first recipient, Sharon Ojala, added this delight-full crochet heart danglie. I love danglies. If you are a yarn artist, you will adore her website. The ambulance bunny alone…!

Everyone is adding a tag, so I’ll have to create one, too. What a cool Zentangle from Laura. When I think “tags” I’m transported to the wondrous art of Tim Holtz and his “12 Tags of Christmas.” I do have a lot of Distress Inks and alcohol inks. Toss in a bit of Distress Stain…ooooh, the ideas that are spinning.

Laura is known as The Diva in the Zentangle community, and her alteration come in the form of a–come on, take a guess–Zentangle. A Zendala, actually, on the bottom of the cup. A shame to have something so beautiful hidden on the bottom, but what a treat when you discover it. I’m that person who stays to watch movie credits to the very end. Not only does it honor the filmmaking artists who contributed to the project, but sometimes there is a surprise something for those with such patience. (Note: pay attention to animated films, especially Pixar movies.) I look on the bottom of restaurant coasters. Sometimes the table-food-specials advertisements have something cute or smarmy on the bottom; Red Robin is a good one for this. When is the last time you looked up at building architecture? I look for and find Hidden Mickeys at Disneyworld.  There is unfounded delight in being unusual.

Inspired by that, today was the day to do the weekly Zendala Challenge. It’s harder to do these now that they start on the weekend, but today I committed to it.

Two Zendala challenges I have resisted the urge, the primal scream, to use Paradox as a tangle. What else do you fill triangles with? I am learning. Struggling and experimenting and struggling some more. I don’t know what I’m learning other than reinforcing that I am stubborn.

I am not totally pleased with the outcome, although it is much happier shaded. Not sure if the tangles didn’t appeal to me, but I do feel brave in using color again. Maybe more colors would give it more ba-Zing! Such a detailed pattern does scream for intricacies and bursts of extravanganza. I do like how the outer ring, and yes, the single Purk was planned. There is always something to find that is good. And unexpected. Hidden, perhaps…did you see that before I mentioned it?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 20:20:52

    I also struggled to NOT fill the triangles with paradox! It’s such a tempting shape! Your zendala is lovely and the tangles you chose fit in it well. I’ve tried Chainging a few times, and can’t quite get it right… perhaps more practice – yours is beautiful!

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 12:11:38

      Thank you! I’m pleased you like my Chainging. That’s always a “Zentangle Heel” for me. Yup, practice. I’m glad my effort comes through. (Finally!)

      Reply

  2. Annemarie
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 00:13:57

    Yes, your Chaining is beautiful. Like Steph I have not yet managed to get it right. Your whole zendala is great.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 12:13:08

      Thank you. I wasn’t sure how my choice of tangles would come across (including Chainging), so I’m happy others find this appealing.

      Reply

  3. Sue
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 07:12:48

    Yup, your chainging really caught my eye – what a great use for this tangle. Like that you have tried different tangles for the triangles. The more I look at your zendala, the more I see. Well done.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

