The good, the bad and the Zentangle

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”~Robert Frost, American poet

A tile and cup of tea courtesy of The Diva’s Blog Friendship Cup

Hey, curious about the Blog Friendship Cup? You should be! You can receive it next. Check it out here!

The good, the bad and the ugly–it’s not just a movie title. That sums up Life. Days are usually a mix of those traits.

Today was a blah day for me. I woke up and felt lousy all day. Lunch didn’t agree with me. I spent 31 minutes on the exercise bike and I felt better. Then a Penn State car magnet was snatched from my vehicle. I got a good mocha frapp from Starbucks.

As scrapbookers, we tend not to focus on the minutiae of life, especially the negative things. However, without that reality, we have piles of books with pretty pictures in them.

As writers, we need that infusion of honesty to make writing speak more than just its words do.

I have family members who send me cards. I have friends who I can call at 3:00am, and fortunately I don’t have to. I have medical issues that must be monitored. It’s not all good. It’s not all bad.

Laura, the Zentangle Diva, reflects on that this week in the Zentangle Challenge #91 as she struggles with health and self. She calls attention to the organization Beads of Courage. I donated Zentangle polymer beads I made earlier this year for this charity that chronicles each step an ill child goes through with a necklace bead. The Diva’s challenge: interpret “beads.”

Beads of courage infuse every space possible

“Strength” is one of the tenets of Beads of Courage, the same as the Four Diamonds Fund and Penn State’s THON. The word “Hope” also comes to mind, at once a wimpy word–relying on fate and belief, not action–and a strong one–serving as inspiration for a better tomorrow.

When there is a disease, a tredgedy, a hardship or whatever challenge facing us, it consumes our life.  I created a traditional tile using some unused-in-a-while tangles, but placing beads in each one.  There is movement, clutter, structure, black, white, grey areas…and a little funnel for hope.  All part of life.

This is my contribution, hoping that someday we wear beads only for joy and we dance in celebration of no need to dance.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gloria J Zucaro
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 15:30:23

    I especially like the brayds that go up with the little beads inside!

    Reply

  2. ledenzer
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 18:35:23

    The beads are enhancers of beauty in this tile!

    Reply

  3. Didsch
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 03:06:01

    Just beautiful!

    Reply

  4. Annemarie
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 06:30:20

    What a beautiful and different way of taking this challenge.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Oct 18, 2012 @ 12:33:36

      Thanks everyone. I struggled with ideas and then I saw something with a bead in it and *shazam*! I’m glad it worked in Chainging. Kinda nestled in there. I like how it turned out.

      Reply

  5. Tinkered Art
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 14:11:42

    A lovely tile and equally lovely sentiments expressed in your writing. Thanks

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

