Halloween and Zentangles that glow bump in the night

“It’s as much fun to scare as to be scared.”~Vincent Price, American actor

As an adult, I’m finding Halloween to be the most funnest holiday. It starts with my Halloween Blog Party.

My ghoul is cool!

There’s chocolate. That’s a big one.

Costumes. Lights. Events that involve corn, cider and cinnamon donuts. Glow-in-the-dark everything. Owls. I like owls. And bats. Amusement parks open on weekends for ghostly ride nights. Decorations.

Did I mention chocolate?

I love the darkness swirling around. Not in an evil sense but as a mysterious mood. That’s why for this week’s Diva challenge, I stepped outside the box…tile, in this case.

I learned a fabulous technique at the Craft and Hobby Association (CHA) tradeshow in Chicago this past summer. I was introduced to some more must-have-in-my-art-and-scrapbooking-stash items.

Tombow introduced a new colored pencil line called Irojiten, a smooth pen that blends well with others. There are neon colors in this series, colors that glow under blacklight.

Can you see where this is going?  Spook Central, baby!

On a black ATC tile, I drew tangles in black ballpoint pen. This keeps tone-on-tone. You have to push hard because you want to make indentations in your paper, debossing of sorts. Excessive pressure is the antithesis of the Zentangle method–relax, breathe–but I found this focus good. It was a smaller surface, so I felt more comfortable completing it. Bunzo is the new tangle introduced, the radiating circles in the center of the tile. I didn’t have a string so I drew random tangles at my whim. The nice thing about this method is that there is no shading. You do have to have good concentration to see where you left off black on black. I used a small LED reading light for extra brightness.

I used the side of the pencil tip to color, brushing over the paper. The main reason to keep your strokes light is to be able to blend. Pushing straight down could produce unintentional debossing. I didn’t fuss too much here; I randomly added color, blending where the two met. Soft edges, not hard lines.

The ATC is lovely as-is. I highlighted Bunzo in yellow-orange and played with each color flourescent pencil. This was just fun to do.

Ahhh…but wait! There’s more! When I learned this technique and got the pencils, I bought a blacklight bulb and heavy-duty clip-on light casing for just this reason. Here’s the same tile when splashed with blacklight.

Now imagine doing this with more definition, with more of a purpose in your coloring like blending two greens to make a grassy landscape or oranges to make a sunny pineapple. The possibilities are end-full.

Trust me, as impressive as this looks, the photo doesn’t do it justice as seeing it in person.

Happy Halloween!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 00:37:31

    Very different and very beautiful.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 16:58:43

    Oh wow, you had fun with this one! Lovely results.

    Reply

  3. Wendi Knape
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 06:13:09

    Really cool Diana. Love them.

    Reply

  4. bshavershahinBrenda
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 05:19:52

    Wow! This is beautiful!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

