A beautiful Zentangle and a cup of friendly tea

“Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it.”~Confucius, Chinese philosopher

I created a beautiful Zentangle.

This week’s Diva Challenge #97 is to create a Zentangle without a string. We started with that awful blank space and had to fill it. Where to begin?

I started at the left for no particular reason. Just like I do when I write, I needed to fill that space somehow, and fast. I have a number of go-to tangles, so I picked the first that came to mind: Mooka. From there I built off that. My husband continually remarks how I should use color more so I sprinkled some throughout. I gave myself a time limit and made a conscious choice not to shade. It is beautiful as is and I want to preserve the purity of this.

20121128-172425.jpg

I did not find this challenge particularly good or bad. Just like the blank paper, my mind was empty when I started. I had no plan but in desperation I started with a safe tangle. I resisted the urge to make a tangle the string, like Hollibaugh. I also resisted drawing a picture out of tangles.

Would I do this again? Sure. As long as I had a starting tangle. Time to pull out my Zentangle kit’s icosahedron.

This is also a good time to mention the winner of the Blog Friendship Cup. Check out this post to see the gift I received from The Diva herself. Ironically, another tangler, Cathy Cusson, will be the next to receive it. She’s been a lucky lady these past few months. Watch this blog and hers to follow the cup’s adventures.

And my NaNoWriMo Word Count is still behind by 10,000 words or so, but I’m at my personal-daily-word-count-to-finish-on-time Word Count. The deadline comes closer…and so does the celebration.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Viola
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 23:15:30

    Nice!

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 04:25:58

    Wow, what a beautiful assortment of tangles floating across your tile. Love it!

    Reply

  3. Annemarie
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 05:47:31

    Great! Just great.

    Reply

  4. helen
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 12:31:04

    Lovely design :)

    Reply

  5. ledenzer
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 03:00:38

    Wow…. so many gorgeous patterns and beautifully placed, one picking up the beauty as you enjoy moving your eyes around the page!

    Reply

  6. BethB
    Dec 02, 2012 @ 09:39:40

    A beautiful assortment of tangles, which you’ve made so cohesive. I absolutely love the flow, especially the way (to me) purk seems to run like a stream. The color is always a delightful touch, and accents nicely.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 09:36:11

      Thank you for your lovely comments. Purk as a stream…I never noticed that. Delightful discoveries.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

