Happy accident Monday

“If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.”~Vincent Van Gogh, Dutch painter

It has been foggy here in southeast Michigan all day, as if Mother Nature knew mood. Pushing through a sore thought and the sleepiness that comes from a night of coughing, I have a To-Do list that I can’t focus on despite being written out in neat script with bullet points.

Like a life preserver, I reached for the one thing I thought would help me redefine my focus: Zentangle. Oh, and a cup of tea.

The Diva’s Zentangle Challenge #98 is to use a guest tangle, this one by fellow CZT Donna Hornsby. Her tangle, Keenees, reminded me instantly of the Zentangle tangle Jetties, which made me think Christmas ornaments.

I had planned to do a Christmas tree, reminiscent of the half-decorated tree in my living room. I wanted to do something smaller, an artist trading card. I picked out a pen from my bag and began drawing. The first stroke startled me: I had grabbed an 08 not an 01 like I thought I had. Great. Just great.

ZenT-DivaChallenge98-UMTKee-Nee

I didn’t like how Flux was looking like a tree anyway, but it looked a bit like a candy cane. Why not a candy cane tree?

I wanted blue ornaments regardless, so I did a combo of black pen, blue pen and colored pencils. I’ve been craving to use mixed media in a Zentangle so I played. A touch of green pencil shading around the edges and I am feeling festive.

Now have to get some Christmas Marshmallow Peeps. There are only 22 days left for them to harden into rock-solid crunchiness.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily Classon (MomZenArtist)
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 12:37:48

    So cute! I like how your modified Flux evolved. Looks pretty tasty.

    Do you like the chocolate covered Peeps or just the traditional, yet seasonal ones?

    Reply

  2. Chrissie
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 13:17:36

    Beautiful and Christmassy!!! I feel left out though as I don’t know what marshmallow peeps are!!! Don’t have them in the UK.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Dec 03, 2012 @ 18:08:29

      Oh, boo! Marshmallow Peeps (commonly called “Peeps”) were originally 2×2″-ish marshmallow in the shape of a chick, usually coated in yellow sugar sprinkles, available only at Easter. Nowadays, they come in shapes and flavors and choc-covered year-round. Look under my website “Article” tab for my award-winning Peeps article or check out the site: http://www.marshmallowpeeps.com/

      I’m more a purist, especially since the chocolate coating doesn’t add that much to it. Give me Halloween choco-bats, however…!

      Reply

  3. Veronica (Ronnie) Szczerba
    Dec 03, 2012 @ 14:17:58

    Very original – love it!

    Reply

  4. Diane Masloroff
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 20:01:04

    I am liking your Keenees holiday spirit.

    Reply

  5. Wayne Harlow
    Dec 04, 2012 @ 20:40:28

    I really like the way your interpretation feels…I think you nailed it.

    Reply

  6. efie
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 06:25:14

    very nice!

    Reply

  7. Didisch
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 07:17:19

    Beautiful how you combined those two tangles with great colorchoice.

    Reply

  8. Annemarie
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 08:12:29

    This turned out great! I also had a bad cold and am ‘not amused’. But….. it will pass as always.

    Reply

  9. BethB
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 06:13:14

    I love your candy cane tree, and the Keenees ornaments. Lovely tangles and the color really adds some festive fun. Nice! Hope you feel better soon.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

