12-12-12 at 12:12

I don’t think I’ve heard so many news discussions or read so many social media posts about “today’s date” since the new millennium.

20121216-180553.jpg

The staple ingredient in mom’s Lebkuchen cookie recipe.

At 12:12am, I was baking a batch of cookies that did NOT make mom’s recipe proud. Any number of things could have gone wrong: too much flour, too high baking temperature, too long baking…who knows? The recipe is one of those old fashioned hand-written on an index card which includes instructions like “Bake about 30 to 40 mins. or until done in medium oven.” That explains a lot.

20121216-180503.jpg

This is what 12:12pm looks like

At 12:12pm, I sat in a Caribou Coffee shop sipping a light vanilla latte and desperately waiting for wifi to kick in and grant me Internet access. It did finally connect, but then I spent so much time on Facebook and Foursquare that it did not matter.

20121216-180522.jpg

Snufflet and Finse drinking latte at 12:12pm

.
.

My Office Guys were with me, sharing in this memorable moment. They, too sipped latte. We all shared the drink and the moment in history.
.
.
.
.
My husband was far from chilly Michigan. At 12:12pm, he had just finished his morning sessions at a conference in San Diego. Then he went to the beach. He wins the most exciting 12:12 contest.

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

