A message at midnight

“Aim at heaven and you will get earth thrown in; aim at earth and you get neither.”~C. S. Lewis, English writer

Something about tonight’s mass deeply touched me. I wish I could remember the exact words because “squander” comes to mind and I know it wasn’t that.

Our new pastor also teaches to graduate students studying religion. One student, he tells us, was incredibly gifted and smart. Much like one of my ex-boyfriends, this student never took notes and did not have to study to get an A on any test. The pastor even had to wake this student from napping in his class (another trait of my ex-boyfriend, too).

End of the semester comes and it’s time for individual meetings to discuss grades. This student was obviously used to praise because he did not expect what came next.

“You were one of my biggest disappointments,” my pastor said.

The kid was stunned.

“You are brilliant and could have contributed so much to the class but you didn’t.” My pastor goes on to say that he could have learned so much from others, as well as himself, but he did not pay attention. He missed out in the moments because he was not present in the moment.

“You are intelligent and have a great memory, and you did not earn a passing grade. Other students would give almost anything for a mind like yours. Some have to work extra hard just to get a C but they worked.”

My pastor’s closing remarks were just as numbing to the student.

“I am giving you an A not because you earned it but because of your potential. You can become a greater person than you ever imagined because there is so much more you can do in life than you are right now. Do not waste this opportunity you have.”

I sat there just as stunned as that student must have been because I realized I have wasted much of my talent. I am a great writer and can share my thoughts and words with others to make them laugh or cry or just enjoy themselves for the time they spend reading my work. Some people think writing is just playing around with words, not serious work like designing a bridge or curing cancer, but it is work. I happen to have an aptitude and a passion for that, just as some people have an interest in medicine or physics.

Why are my stories unfinished? Why have I not yet published my first book, let alone my second or third or fourth books?

What of my friends and family who support me? Why don’t I call them more, or at least write letters or emails? Why have I not made time for all those important things in my life? Why have I not taken advantage of all that I have?

It is time for me to stop wasting my opportunities. It is time for you to do the same. Think about it. Merry Christmas!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tina Argot
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 05:40:40

    God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
    The courage to change the things I can,
    And the wisdom to know the difference.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

