MegaMeet and Zentangle v.2013

“The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it.”~Henry David Thoreau, American poet

Terribly excited am I. Yes that sounds like Yoda, but I am in full Zen mode, after all. Great Lakes MegaMeet registration opens at 7pm tonight. Now in its 14th year, the “Midwest’s Largest Scrapbook Convention” is a three-day celebration of paper and adhesive. MegaMeet takes over the huge convention center with a Supercenter-esque roomful of vendors that are positively primeval towards my credit card. And let’s not forget the abundance of classes.

My friend, Linda, and I have printed the class grid, coordinated dates and times and we are set with our lists of classes to take, many of them together. It’s a very scientific thing we do. At 6:50pm, you’ll find me sitting at my computer refreshing the screen every minute until I am logged in to register for classes. After all, I do not know if my computer’s clock is set to MegaMeet time.

Classes have moved beyond what many people may consider “typical” scrapbooking of pictures and stickers on pretty paper. This year, there are classes on cardmaking, bookbinding, alcohol marker techniques, jewelry making, organization systems and not one but…wait for it…wait for it…TWO Zentangle classes taught by yours truly.

No sooner will I confirm my classes then I will stalk the registration to see how my Zendalas and Zentangle Garden classes are filling. My Basics Class sold out last year and now I have been upgraded to a room offering twice the capacity per day. Yep, hawking the board until I see my class blocks turning colors as the warnings “only X seats available” pop up.

People have said that mine is the first class that they are signing up for. Well, that just tickles me peach. Even when I mentioned that classroom size has been added, I still got those looks that say I’m not risking it anyway. Tickles me even peachier.

So in totally good spirits I did this week’s Diva Challenge #108 and was quickly knocked off that wave of euphoria. Using the tangle Whyz created by CZT Jane MacKugler, I immediately screwed it up.

20130305-170059.jpg

I got lost in the Ys created in each square diagonal. Look, I know my alphabet, but for some reason I got the spacing off. What should look like knots instead looked like stained glass windows, and that’s how I rescued it. I colored spaces I was not “supposed” to and I liked the contrast. Having drawn a wonky string–the first atypical one in months!–I did another section before attempting Whyz #2. And still I got lost! I did not create side-by-side alternating knots; I made ropes of twisty yarn. It looked quite delicate, so I crosshatched the sides and launched Hollibaugh off it. My shading was a bit heavy, possibly due to the 33-minute time limit I set for myself, but I like what I salvaged from my “mistakes.”

That’s what I strive to convey to my students at MegaMeet and beyond: no mistakes. Now the waiting begins….

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronnie
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 15:01:21

    The final product is awesome! Good luck at the convention and hope you enjoy yourself and don’t go bankrupt – lol.

    Reply

  2. Danni O'Brien, CZT
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 15:52:00

    Congrats on your upcoming class. Your WHYZ tile is great, it looks like its hanging on a wall, great perspective.

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 19:00:40

    Have a ton of fun with your classes. The show sounds great too. Your tile looks beautiful, I really like the overall shape.

    Reply

  4. Gloria J Zucaro
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 21:44:36

    wow, sounds like a great workshop and meet. I tried to enlarge your photo so I could really see all the detail. But I think it looks wonderful. have fun!

    Reply

  5. Annemarie
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 23:18:00

    I think your tile is beautiful.

    Reply

  6. Dayna Barnes
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 18:13:03

    One of the coolest things about tangling is the ability to convert “mistakes” into opportunities. I hope to teach that in life as well as art.

    Reply

  7. Lila
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 01:25:14

    Fabulous – lots of character!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

