Zentangle and Mooka: a love of lines

“Art is good at looking back and looking forward; I don’t think art is good at looking head on.”~Damien Hirst, English art collector

Go on, look at me cross-eyed, but let me get it out there: I love Mooka.

20130405-234301.jpg

I am thrilled with this week’s Diva Challenge which is to create a monotangle of Mooka. I could do this for hours.

20130405-125725.jpg

My Wonky Mookas unshaded…

Why? It’s a quick and dirty way to fill a space or impressively decorate an envelope. It’s so simple with its one line design.
.
.
.
I enjoy doing my “wonky Mookas,” as a reader commented weeks ago on one of my tiles. It’s actually a Rick-esque twist that adds a bit of bulbous bounce to the already intricate design.

20130405-125743.jpg

Now shaded!

Sure, I still struggle with the even-spaces-between element of Mooka, but I enjoy it too much to allow myself to be critical of my work. Maybe that’s why I like it so much: it’s free-flowing and, for me, mind-freeing. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 23:47:19

    Great Mooka’s

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

