A Zendala and a revelation

“I have come across women who did not draw mandala symbols but who danced them.”~Katherine Raine, British poet

It took this Zendala Dare to make me realize why I am not as enamored with Zendalas as a CZT should be: boundaries.

This revelation has NOTHING to do with Erin’s delightful weekly challenge over at The Bright Owl. My weekly participation, or lack of, has more to do with timing than of interest. I made time this week and I thank whatever stars aligned to make this happen. I finally understood my general reluctance.

I had never really thought about it until I worked non-traditional, grid-based tangles into these curvy spaces. I try so hard not to use Paradox in every Zendala I do, so I challenge myself to find funky tangles that have no business being in a Zendala. The way a Zendala works best is to define individual segments by “outlining” each one, which highlights the intricate detail that sparkles in a Zendala. However, I am not an inside-the-lines kind of gal. I never have been.

20130418-122431.jpg

Zendala Dare #53

I always knew that, and it took my first Great Lakes MegaMeet scrapbook convention to remind me. One particular class instructor said, “You don’t have to follow my directions exactly. If you like the pattern on the other side of the paper, use that.” Turns out I actually did like the reverse of the paper in my hands, so I flipped the sheet over. In fact, I used the reverse of the paper for the rest of the class, just to be persnickety. In all my classes now, I make it a point to use the other side of the sheet.

Then in my Zentangle certification workshop, Maria showed us how to “flow” a tangle out of the empty space of another tangle. I haven’t looked back. That explains why every tile ensemble I’ve worked on has never been crisp: I don’t stay within the lines. It all makes sense. Staying inside the lines is the challenge for me. What an interesting thing to know about myself.

And you know what they say about knowledge….

With that, I finished the Zendala. I had hoped more dark contrast would be prominent, but I tend to tangle towards the light and lacey and delicate. Because it was not what I expected, It took me a few minutes to say to myself “I like that.” After all, there’s always another one to do. Challenging myself out of my comfort zone is exactly why I should and will continue these challenges with a new, renewed interest. That’s the beauty and growth of Zentangle.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 23:12:23

    I like your explanation, thanks for sharing.
    Your zendala is great, I love the light part in it.

    Reply

  2. Donald Wilka
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 19:25:16

    Like the tangles that you used. Your cubine looks great and adds an interesting dimension to the Zendala.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

