Starry eyed Zentangle

“I have to dream and reach for the stars, and if I miss a star then I grab a handful of clouds.”~Mike Tyson, American athlete

How ironic that just the other day in my Zendala post I commented that stars aligned for me to make the time to do that challenge and come to a personal realization. Well, when I was thinking “stars,” I must have been thinking of this week’s Diva Challenge.

As a scrapbooker, I have a wide assortment of…stuff. In a wonderful twist of fate, or perhaps, fated by Zentangle, I have a set of alphabet letters and stencil shapes that are perfectly tile-sized. Yes, I have a star. That was the first thing that came to mind when I read about this challenge, so go with your gut.

20130419-161438.jpg

Stars in my eyes: Diva Challenge #114

I traced it onto a tile, and here is where my Zendala lesson comes in. A star needs to have some outline to stand out, either the background for the star negative space or the star itself. How do I draw lines and outlines without drawing lines and outlines? I chose tangles that have an edgy style to them. I cheated one side with Hollibaugh. I can always make my Wonky Mookas define a space. I get the illusion of a line with my Squid-esque Bumper tangle. I did not make a string within the star; I just let me inhibitions and my tangles flow. By the end, I created definition without making lines. Happy me!

To finish it off, there’s more playing and happy to be had.  Inspired by Cris Letourneau and her awesomely-edited (*ahem*) book, Made in the Shade: a Zentangle Workbook, I am preparing to teach my first class on shading, so I pulled out my set of graphite pencils. I love the variety of black I get, the depth I never got from my regular #2 pencil and the ultimate control you have to maintain. Just as you take responsibility for every penstroke made on your Zentangle, take ownership of every shading and smudge. Did I like the 2H or the 2B pencil better? There’s space available in my class next week, so join me there and I’ll tell you.

This is one of the few times I can say that I absolutely adore my tile from start to finish. I love it when a plan comes together. Hap-pea!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 23:23:52

    Your star is very pretty!

    Reply

  2. ledenzer
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 09:28:42

    A beautiful star!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

