The ABCs of art books

“Every artist writes his own autobiography.”~Havelock Ellis, British physician

How ironic that today I joined a local Altered Book Club at their monthly meeting. It also just so happened that I spent an hour before that wandering the aisles of Bookstock, the annual used book and media sale at Laurel Park Place mall.

20130421-233017.jpg

My hometown, Pittsburgh and a cool gargoyle

Sales benefit a literacy program. My husband found used CDs (what a surprise) and I found delicious hardcover books, music sheets, a 1903 Saturday Evening Post and some map-ish state books. I was happy to use one of those pages in a bird shaped book I’m playing in. Ever since my altered and art journal classes, I am in love with Lumiere “fabric” paint. I am finally using and keeping some of the beloved stuff I buy. What better tribute than my hometown as seen in 1971?

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

