Cucumbers and Zentangle

“Writing about music is like dancing about architecture.”~Martin Mull, American actor

I love the Diva’s UMT challenges. Once a month, she posts a tangle created by someone in the Zentangle community and every challenge participant uses it in our tiles.

If I gardened, I might have more familiarity or appreciation for cucumbers. To me, they are a delish ingredient in a salad. To Katy Abbott, it’s a tangle.

20130515-013358.jpg

Diva Challenge #118: Cute Kuke

I only teach “official” Zentangle tangles in my classes, so it’s nice to take a break from this past weekend’s festivities and venture into new territory.

Everyone takes their own spin on tangles, wherever they come from. For me, I found it more flowing to draw the circles first instead of the “Y” because I could control the space. I was also able to play with layers in Printemps style.

I found my flower petal florets a bit small to fill with black, but just like shading, a smidge of penstroke adds a delicate dimension. Kuke has a bouncy, rolling look. I feel like going outside and kicking a ball around the backyard.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Marie
    May 17, 2013 @ 10:25:06

    This turned out beautifully. Love the behind look too.

    Reply

  2. Donald Wilka
    May 17, 2013 @ 20:25:22

    Nice job. I had the same difficulty with petal like areas as well. I even used an 005. Like how you put Kuke center stage.

    Reply

  3. Annemarie
    May 17, 2013 @ 23:21:06

    Great, a lovely zia.

    Reply

  4. BethB (Elizabeth Cline Beveridge on FB)
    May 18, 2013 @ 06:14:23

    I love how the other tangles appear to be keeping Kukes from getting away! Your tangles are beautiful.

    Reply

  5. ledenzer
    May 18, 2013 @ 09:48:33

    What a gorgeous bunch of Kuke!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

