Color and a Zentangle challenge

“Between two evils, I always pick the one I never tried before.”~Mae West, American actress

I taught such a fun class last night. Color me a Rainbow is class #4 in my 10-series and it focuses on…wait for it…color! I can’t wait to share the photo of the tiles, so here it is:

20130523-121253.jpg

Fun with colors and borders!

The focus was not so much on the tangles as it was the technique. We started off making a Zendala color wheel to revisit the ROY G. BIV of our childhood. I taught two border-esque tangles, Eke and Shattuck, which gave everyone lots of opportunity to play and experiment with their colored pencil set. Look at everyone’s approach. Fabulous!

My husband is supportive of my Zentangle passion, so I texted him this picture. His reply? “Ooh! Colors!”

He likes my black-and-white work, but he loves when I use colors. When I think color, I tend to think of “pens” not “pencils.” I forgot how much fun it was. Inspired, I couldn’t wait to do this week’s Diva Challenge with color.

I was utterly disappointed to learn that this week’s challenge was “Ebony and Ivory,” using equal parts black and white. Drat. Double drat!

This challenge is challenging in it’s own right. I struggle with black-white balance. My tiles lean towards the lighter side, but when I use darker tangles, my tiles drag down with the heavy load. Perhaps this is a reflection of my personal life…hmm….

A challenge is still a challenge. However, I refuse to cheat and use Knightsbridge or Schway. I also refuse to work on a mirrored string. Nope, if I can’t play with color, I’m not making it easy.

20130523-133148.jpg

Living in perfect harmony?

I chose to work on an ATC to prevent me from mentally diving a square in half. Moving on, I had to think about this. Problem solving. I started with Stripling, which may have been my initial issue. Rather than sharp contrast, I think starting with a more open tangle and adding darkness to it might have stressed me less. Perhaps the key would be to spread out the lighter and darker tangles. Juke may be too close to Stripling to leave breathing white space. Or Vitruvious and the others may just be too much mid-range stuck in the middle, splitting the tile awkwardly in  half.  The shading helped blend it together.

Overall, it does not feel weighted down. It feels a little tipsy, but that could just be my state of mind having drank a large cup of Solidario blend coffee at Espresso Royale in Ann Arbor and planning to get a refill. Just like a critique of my writing, any feedback on my work helps me improve. Do you think it balances?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ledenzer
    May 23, 2013 @ 11:55:22

    Beautifully done!

    Reply

  2. BethB (Elizabeth Cline Beveridge on FB)
    May 23, 2013 @ 20:15:54

    Well done! It sounds like the process was really stimulating for you, and that’s great. I really like your ATC.

    Reply

  3. Danni O'Brien, CZT
    May 23, 2013 @ 23:21:07

    Lovely balance on your challenge tile, feels very playful and light. I also love what your doing with your classes and color!

    Reply

  4. Linda Marie
    May 24, 2013 @ 07:57:55

    I think it balances beautifully. II also agree with Danni’s comment about light and playful.

    Reply

  5. Cecile
    May 24, 2013 @ 08:42:51

    Living in perfect harmony is very nice.
    I will have to remember that little trick( ATC)
    I like it.

    Reply

  6. Donald Wilka
    May 24, 2013 @ 15:32:49

    Think you achieved a nice balance.

    Reply

  7. Annemarie
    May 25, 2013 @ 23:53:32

    Your tile is pretty and the balance is there.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

