What makes something awesome?

“Sometimes you feel like a nut; sometimes you don’t.”~Hershey Foods’ ad campaign for Mounds chocolate bar

Class of awesomeness.

Somedays as an instructor, I am on. I am so on that if a squirrel tore through the room, it would still be a good class. There are also times when I just feel off. Nothing goes wrong, but 0n such days, when my students tell me class was great, there’s a part of my brain that insists they are just being polite.

Last night’s Zentangle Basics class was a good one, only I didn’t know it at the time. One person cancelled, the remaining students were late due to traffic, and I was in the bathroom when they arrived, thus causing confusion with everyone including the building supervisor.

20130613-151700.jpg

Class of Awesomeness tiles

I must have been thinking of time constraints because I finished class early. Not wanting to cheat my students of the Zentangle experience and knowing the room was available for an extra 30 minutes, I said in a teasing voice, “Well, I can teach you another tangle before you leave. That is, if you want…”

The room exploded with a jumble of “Yeses”, “Of courses” and “Pleases.” I introduced them to my favorite CZT-exclusive tangle, Knase, and we started a third tile.

“Draw your own string, whatever you want,” I instructed. The students stared at me, and I stared back and said, “I can draw a string for you if you like.”

Smiles lit their faces, and I was reminded of my CZT certification workshop when we worked on T-shirts and Maria asked, “Do you want me to draw a string for you?” Uhhhh…yeah…! Now I was the revered one. That feels really cool, important, worthy, masterful.

So I did, giving everyone a circle somewhere in it. Teaching Knase took us just to the end of the time. We did a last class mosaic and one girl said, “Oh my gosh, this was so much fun. I am going to be so annoying because I’m going home to Zentangle and I don’t think I’ll sleep tonight….”

Those are the moments I live for, the moments that make me realize I do make an impact. We all do.

20130622-001417.jpg

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

