Row, flow, row your Zentangle

“A work of art is the unique result of a unique temperament.”~Oscar Wilde, Irish poet

As a scrapbooker, this week’s Diva Challenge #126 is right up my paper alley. We are challenged to use a stencil as the string. Well, it just so happens that I have an upcoming advanced Zentangle workshop that focuses on using stencils and stamps, so this is perfect motivation to create class samples.

20130711-005845.jpg

This was my first attempt, and I was not happy with it while I was working. I have been in a funk all day for no particular reason, and I think my mood affected my outlook. I wanted to follow the stencil but not follow it, so I broke the rules and broke up the string. The clustered look did not appeal to me. Again, great expectations…un-met. It wasn’t until I started my second tile that I appreciated the beauty of this one.

I actually do not have a lot of stencils. That facet of scrapbooking passed its heyday by the time I joined the archival revolution. Since I am a writer, it is not surprising that most of my stencils are lines for storytelling. My friends and anyone in earshot tire of my soapbox tirade about scrapbook journaling, so let’s just move on.

20130710-160924.jpg

This is the journaling template I used, one of my favorites you’d see in older scrapbooks if you rode Mr. Peabody’s WABAC Machine.  It was hard to get a clear picture of it, but I used the undulating offset waves in the middle. I forgot just how fun these lines were, heck, even the idea of just using funky lines to journal. I have missed that in my scrapbooks. How nice to rediscover.

You can tell I was feeling better because I used colors on this tile. I wanted to have a color example for my upcoming class, but you can’t fake a color mood. I had fun, so much fun that I had to stop myself from tweaking and over-blending.  I couldn’t stop myself.  My colored pencils took on a life of their own.

20130711-134409.jpg

This time I flowed along the lines, keeping the horizontal/vertical aspect ratio.  I was not necessarily attempting a rainbow, which is obvious by my cacophony of color.  I wanted to keep movement rather than the explosion of tangles above.  Turns out I liked them both.  I like the subtlety of the lines in the first tile, peek-a-boo style.  I enjoy the evenness of the second tile.  I had no ambitions to create a rainbow; I went with whatever colors attracted my eye at the time.  I have a disparaging lack of green paper in my scrapbook stash, but I find I’m enjoying that color’s brightness and its in-your-face calming effect. 

Take a moment today and appreciate something, anything.  Enjoy its unique qualities and shading and colors.  You’ll find yourself in color-full mood, too, I bet.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 00:17:12

    Don’t be so hard on yourself, I think both are lovely.

    Reply

  2. LonnettA
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 02:33:14

    I agree with Annemarie, don´t be do hard on yourself. In my opinion a challange should be to have pleasure. Both are lovely!

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jul 13, 2013 @ 21:07:07

      Thank you, both. It really is amazing what I learn about myself thru these challenges. Even the difficult ones are enjoyable as long as I leave with a new perspective. That’s what makes the challenges challenging, and why we do these.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

