Dance with she wielding Zentangle

“The curious paradox is that when I accept myself just as I am, then I can change.”~Carl Rogers, American psychologist

I wondered if I was being true to myself this week.

In this week’s Diva Challenge #129, a pre-drawn string, was the base for the challenge. In honor of the Zentangle Flow class I taught last week, I completed two tiles: one that strictly follows the string and one that does not.

20130802-095431.jpg

Following the lines

As I began the first one, I felt stressed. I must have had the class on my mind because I felt like I was approaching this as a new student. In some ways I was because I rarely stay inside the lines these days, in all my life not just Zentangle. I was thinking of tangles that would keep a line while still allowing me to express myself. I felt limited, not expressive.

The second one tossed care to the wind. The string was a suggestion and I would use it as a suggestion. Despite the frustration of my pen running low on ink as I worked on it, I felt much more open. The tangles flowed together and blurred the actual string. I felt more me. You cannot contain this woman!

20130802-095445.jpg

Let it all hang out, baby

Looking at them together, I see that I could not bring myself down to the level of following the lines. I am too comfortable with this whole Zentangle thing, too free, too expressive. The second one definitely disguises the string, but I did not expect the first one to do so as well. The first is more sectioned but somehow also flows. I didn’t realize that even when I follow the rules I still break them.

I guess I was true to myself, limited and limitless. Interesting.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cecile
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 11:29:00

    nice I like them both but really like the second one

    Reply

  2. Annemarie
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 23:09:10

    Both are great, with and without limits.

    Reply

  3. LonettA
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 08:24:01

    Both are wonderful! Great choice of tangles. Nicely done!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

