Tangle to the beat of your own Henna Drum

“Better than a thousand hollow words is one word that brings peace.”~Buddha, Indian teacher

The Diva Challenge #130 this week is another UMT, or Use My Tangle, a challenge that focuses on a non-official Zentangle tangle. Jane MacKugler’s contribution Henna Drum is this week’s challenge.

These UMT posts always inspire me to complete or enhance or post the tangles I have created. It’s a self conscious thing, which is odd because as a writer, I have a big ego: Compliment me!

20130808-140216.jpg

Dance to the Henna Drum beat

It’s a lovely tangle, decorative on its own. I used Henna Dance as my string, but then I found it tough choosing tangles to go with it, to do it justice. I almost did a monotile, but no, I wanted to challenge myself. Everything I did was deliberate.

I aura’d some of the flowers and then shaded behind that. A nice depth, making the flower even fuller and brought to mind the purple Japanese folding fan I have hanging in my craft room. I thickened some of the tangle’s branches to see what that would look like. After intertwining tangles together, I purposefully did not shade Ahh because I wanted it to stand out. I like how Henna Dance got lost in all the fun, but I also wish I made it stand out more. Juxtaposition. Learning to love what you have in front of you. I guess I like that best of all.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LonettA
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 23:01:39

    Beautiful tile! It´s very lively and has a fine contrast!

    Reply

  2. Annemarie
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 23:25:59

    I agree, it’s hard to use this tangle with others. You did quite wel though.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 06:40:01

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggled to find balance. That’s the point of these challenges, though: to stretch our creative talents. Thanks, I’m glad you appreciate it.

      Reply

  3. ledenzer
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 14:23:54

    Henna Drum enhances your beautiful tile with just the right touch!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

