In Zentangle and life, all is Well

“Happiness often sneaks in through a door you didn’t know you left open.”~John Barrymore, American actor

As my Birthday Weeks for Sweet Pea wind down, I celebrate all my well wishes.

It all began Labor Day Weekend with the PennState football home-away-from-home opener win against Syracuse. We stayed with my in-laws and we shopped thrift and craft stores, had mom’s homemade cheesecake and played with the puppy. That last part–the puppy–probably made my husband the happiest.

There was some writing, some crafting and more than one free pre-birthday frapp that following week. By my actual birth day, I think by count I received more birthday emails from businesses and loyalty rewards programs offering specials than I got from friends and family, but the phone calls and Facebook posts counter that.

It was off to Chicago for two days of wandering the city and eating lunch with longtime and far-away Journal Club friends Jane, Cyn and Sheryl. That’s what I call some good weeks, and I still have this weekend to go, wrapping up with another journey to be with friends.

Zentangle is never far from my self wherever I go. I showed my friends some Zentangle art and explained a bit of its history. The last I’d seen some of these friends was soon after my Certification two years ago. I like to think I conveyed the experience much better this time.

The beautiful thing about longtime friends is that they know you. Now that can be good or bad depending on how many skeletons are in your closet, but I know my friends’ skeletons so it all balances. While touring the University of Chicago’s Oriental Institute, Jane said,”Maybe you’ll find a Zentangle pattern to create.” She’s awesome!

I did find some inspiration. I especially love the detail in the Egyptian drawing. Only I would be intrigued by little hash marks that remind me of Keeko.

20130913-193919.jpg

20130913-193820.jpg

20130913-193627.jpg

I found it fitting that a new tangle was released this week. Speaking of “well” wishes, this week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #135 is using the new tangle Well. To look at it is to see so many other tangles in it. This tangle is the perfect reflection of life: all things fit together. I see Bales, Paradox, Cadent and Oof in this, just to name a few, and yet Well is its own unique tangle.

20130913-130959.jpg

All is Well in my life

Just like life. I am the combination of all those around me–my husband, family, friends, writing, stuffed Guys, prism sunglasses–and I am my own person. I chose my relationships as much as they did me. They see me as a smile, button nose, a hug, cute, stubborn, particular, creative…and I like to think more mostly-good things. I am so much variety, and I adore that. Yes, I adore myself, and that is not being selfish or vain in any way. It is confidence, the self-awareness of someone paying attention.

That’s why I like this tangle. There is so much to it and so much fun you can have with it. I tried Well the traditional way, then I alternated rows in a wild grid, then I did them all the same direction. Too many lines, I filled the rest in with swirly, happy circles.

I feel rusty doing this tangle because of that variety. I almost found it overwhelming all the options and choices. I am rusty with some of this, and yet I am amazed with what everyone has done with this tangle. I have just begun my exploration of it and how it can and will fit into my art. The Zentangle newsletter suggested some explorations, but there is so much more to it than just that.

Just like me. Just like you. Celebrate uniqueness.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 08:20:49

    Nice explorations of well! (Happy Belated birthday!)

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 08:37:08

      Thank you, dear. Sadly, the Birthday Weeks for Sweet Pea have just ended. Gotta wait until next year….

      Reply

  2. LonettA
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 22:46:19

    Lovely tile! Great choice of tangles. Belated happy birthday!

    Reply

  3. Annemarie
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 23:58:59

    What a great tile and post with a lot of wisdom!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

