Are you up for a Challenge? Two?

“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.”~Benjamin Franklin, American politician

Today, I decided to do both.

I am publishing a book in approximately 8 hours. No more whining or moaning or wishing to publish a book “some day.” Nope. No more wanna-be for me!. I have accepted the challenge. Check out the J.A. Konrath 8-hour eBook Challenge so you can see what madness I have embraced. You have to scroll down quite a bit to get to that section, but trust me, it’s worth it. You’re there when you’ve reached the How to Stop Farting book cover.

If you don’t have the desire to click the link, the concept is simple: in the course of a business workday, anyone can publish a book. The idea, the inspiration, is for writers to forget the countless edits and decisions like whether “simmer” or “percolate” is the best word to use. Go back to the days of finger painting: write with whimsy and color and abandon. Take one read through, maybe two, to check composition and flow, much like contemplating whether another smudge of red makes your painting complete. Format your eBook, create a quick digital cover, then rip the paper from your easel and press “Publish.”

At least I expect to hit a button labeled “Publish.” I’ve never done it do I don’t know. Yet. I don’t have a solid 8-hour chunk to work, but I do have 1-2 hours a day this weekend to do it. Look for the release of Mom, Star Trek and Las Vegas: a Grand adventure on October 1.

Kinda empowering. Definitely scary.

As if one challenge this week wasn’t enough… This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #137 is to create a Duotangle using Tipple and Knightsbridge. I admit, I use these tangles sporatically. Tipple is simple–large open circles with corners dabbled with smaller black circles–and I tend to use this one as an afterthought, as a space-filler when I have no idea what I want to do next. It fits in any space and that makes it versatile. Unlike Laura, it’s not one of my go-to tangles unless I’m desperate to start with something or just want to finish something.

Not very Zen-like, is it? I accept that. Just like anything in life, sometimes I feel it, some times I don’t. And that’s okay. If nothing else, Zentangle has helped me let go of my expectations. I do not love everything and anything–broccoli, mushrooms and country music come to mind–so I’m fine liking other things. ‘Nzeppel is one of my go-to tangles; I like the grid, the delicacies of lacy roundness, the shading options.

Updated note to those coming here from the Challenge: I don’t know why some of my previous challenge links keep posting to the current challenge. Let’s just say user error and move on.

Now Knightsbridge…. I have a Love-Hate relationship with Knightsbridge. The love the contrast of dark-light is outstanding, instantly adding punch to anything that seems bland. Playing with the shape of Knightsbridge’s grid lines makes it fun to create flowing designs, 3-D effects, oh…just about anything.

I hate coloring it in.

20130927-135207.jpg

Shading adds that extra oomph

I want a pen that operates like the Paint/Drop function in Photoshop: one click and, swoosh, the space is filled in. No tedious back-and-forth-and-back-forth-and-back-and-forth of pen strokes. One stray mark outside the lines and there goes the punch effect of the tangle. Sloppy. The exactness makes it somewhat Zen-less, but I have conquered that: larger-nib Micron pens. Thank you .05 and .08 for being in my life!

Despite my whining, I enjoyed this challenge. I played with Knightsbridge three ways, and yes, I did take breaks between coloring in the squares. I also did a dewdrop, two actually, which is the best and most impressive part of this tangle, super-duper easy to do as long as you keep count.

Tipple I played with being on top of and behind Knightsbridge. Still, it was kind of a filler; how do I make it a focal tangle?

The corner is intentionally unfilled. That signifies an uncertain ending…just like the eBook I keep working on.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 14:23:28

    Very well done!!!!

    Reply

  2. LonettA
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 03:39:54

    Lovely tile with a fine 3D effect!

    Reply

  3. Jean Chaney
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 07:16:57

    I like the way you let parts look unfinished. (A white Uni-ball pen is great for masking slight oopses of the black pen). Very nice tile.

    Reply

  4. Danni O'Brien, CZT
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 14:12:03

    Good luck with your book, way to stick with it on the Knightsbridge black, so much better than a Photoshop look. Organic and beautious! I too am so thankful for 5 and 8 mm pens, your black are purrrfect.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

