Creating an eBook and a Zentangle

“Happiness lies in the joy of achievement and the thrill of creative effort.”~Franklin D. Roosevelt, former American president

This was a week to celebrate creation.

It’s late this Thursday night, very late. I’ve been waiting because…I published my first book!

20131006-013317.jpg

That’s right, I met the 8-hour eBook Challenge head on and succeeded! Actually, it’s my non-8-hour eBook because it took approximately 18 hours and 45 minutes over seven days to complete: 15 hours to write/edit and 3:45 hours to register and publish through Kindle Direct Publishing. Yes, it took longer than 8 hours, but at this time last week, I did not have a book published. Now I do! I am proud of it, and of myself. I am hungry to do another one. If you want to check out my first foray into the publishing arena, my book Mom, Star Trek and Las Vegas on Amazon. It’s not on any other platform now; I was just thrilled to complete this.

20131005-113758.jpg

Tangle inspiration

And then there was this week’s Diva Challenge #138: Borders. I’m not referring to the defunct bookstore chain but to the boundaries that surround us, that highlight and frame the world. The challenge was to create borders, our own borders. My first thought was not very Zen at all. In fact, I can’t really say what those first thoughts were because this is a family-friendly website. My mind went back to Challenge #123 where we were to create a Zentangle without using tangles. That was difficult for me and most of the other participants because we are used to direction. That challenge was almost too freeing. Definitely unstructured.

According to this week’s challenge: “Now take another moment to look around you right where you are at this moment and become aware of border tangle inspirations.

20131006-011001.jpg

“Catch” my Diva Zentangle challenge

I was in a doctor’s office with my husband because his cold-sinus-viral-whatever thing was hanging on (and still is, per this writing). I saw archway moulding, straggly branches from some vase…but nothing was inspiring. I looked closer to me, not far away, and saw my purse. The first thought was the logo, then the zipper, then I went back to the logo. The interlocking C intrigued me and I developed what I hope is a new tangle I’m calling Catch. I used that tangle as the actual border, varying it slightly on opposite sides, and filled it in with Zentangle tangles. Creating more was just too much for my mind this week. I was surprisingly pleased with my art.

I feel good about this week, this entire week. The weekend awaits!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annemarie
    Oct 05, 2013 @ 23:54:01

    Congratulations with your book, must be a really GREAT feeling!!!!
    Your tile is beautiful and so in the ‘C’.

    Reply

  2. Danni O'Brien, CZT
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 02:11:14

    Catch looks like a winner, I was also drawn to the great zipper!

    Reply

  3. ledenzer
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 06:47:00

    The inspiration and the completed tile are very nice! What a nice way to spend your wait at the doctor’s office!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

