At home-home with Pittsburgh, publishing and Zentangle

“Where we love is home–home that our feet may leave but not our hearts.”~Oscar Wendell Holmes, American writer

20131008-111401.jpgFirst of all, let me tell you how thrilled I am that people are buying and actually reading the non-8-hour eBook I wrote, Mom, Star Trek and Las Vegas. I did not make the 8-hour challenge that these writers did, but still, I have a book published! Check it out, and see what others accomplished. What seemed impossible isn’t. True to Zentangle philosophy, what else do you think you can’t do?

20131008-111245.jpg

The Rubber Duck Project. First U.S. stop: Pittsburgh!

What do you call “home”? or, “where”? They are two separate questions, sometimes with the same answer. Some years ago, a group of women I met through an online class–my Journal Club–asked that question. How interesting that three of us had the exact same philosophy. “Home” is where we live, our physical house right now, but the place we grew up in is “home-home.” So when I leave (current town) and go to Pittsburgh, I am going not only home but really home-home.

20131008-111613.jpg

PPG Bldg. reflecting on itself

.
.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. My childhood home where the house I grew up in is. The place I feel most comfortable and at ease. Memories that tug at my heart: the public transportation incline I rode as a kid then with my husband. The public transportation busses, for that matter, that I rode as a kid/adult because we didn’t own a car. The North Side branch of Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh where I learned to love reading. The bridge Dad and I walked across from Station Square to Dahntahn. (That’s the local dialect for “downtown.”) The different bridge my husband drove me across to the hospital Dad died in.

20131008-111321.jpg

A different bridge I walked across as a kid. Pgh=”City of Bridges”

Of course there are physical changes and construction, but the atmosphere still smells of familiar. There is still enough.

So here I sit in a coffee shop–Verde Good Beans–in an area of Dahntahn I never frequented much, except to meet Mom once or twice after work or to walk across the nearby bridge with Dad. I brought with me three things: my physical journal for handwriting memories; my laptop; and my Zentangle materials, a limited travel version of course. Relaxed atmosphere to work on this week’s Diva Challenge #139, using a tangle created by Jane Eileen, CZT.

20131008-221948.jpg

The lacework reminds me of some Pittsburgh architecture I have looked at while home. Really, how often do you look up?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellen Wolters
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 23:04:40

    beatyfully done!

    Reply

  2. Jean Chaney
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 09:56:55

    Your 8s are so well done and blend perfectly with the other tangles you chose. Nice work!

    Reply

  3. ledenzer
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 11:58:47

    The way the 8s are intertwined into your tile is so attractive!

    Reply

  4. LonettA
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 00:23:02

    Lovely tile and wonderful photos!

    Reply

  5. Jane Eileen
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 06:12:00

    NIce job!

    Reply

  6. Donald Wilka
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 11:26:20

    Like your tile and congratulations on the E-book.

    Reply

  7. Annemarie
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 23:07:33

    Your tile is beautiful and so is the rest of your post. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

