Zentangle and conquering fear

“When one’s mind is made up, this diminishes fear; knowing what must be done does away with fear.”~Rosa Parks, American activist

If you missed this weekend’s 2013-CandyGuys-ForOct31BlogPost Halloween Blog Party, the festivities are still swinging. Stop on over for some spooky fun. The Guys saved some chocolate for you…I think….
.

This week’s Diva Zentangle Challenge #142 is appropriate for the week of Halloween: complete a Zentangle of something you fear.

Coloring inside the lines is my artist block. I like free-flowing my tangles to interweave with each other. Where does one start, does another even end?

That’s why I struggle with Zendalas. Patterns are generally neat, repetitive, contained, defined. I like to drive with the heat on in December while the window is rolled down so the wind whips my hair.  I am not contained.

Yet, I like the familiar. I only teach Zentangle tangles in my classes, and as I work to master them, I don’t make much time to explore tangles created by other CZTs. I limit my creativity, but I make the excuse that I must master the “official” ones before moving on to master others.

20131030-120314.jpg

Fear conquered: Diva #142

Hence my contribution to this week’s challenge: a Zendala playing with non-Zentangle tangles. Mostly.

Staring at the blank Zendala tile intimidated me so I filled in some spaces with Tipple. Now the tile was no longer blank and I free to move outside my comfort zone. I kept space open for Keeko, which I had planned to add, and then I went to TanglePatterns.com and randomly clicked on the alphabet header to choose tangles.

The CZT-created tangles I used here are: Dugwud by Anita Roby-Lavery; Gewurtz by Linda Farmer; Ionic by Margaret Bremner; C-scape by Sue Olsen; Zenplosion Folds by Danni O’Brien; and Hurakan by Carole Ohl.

What did I learn? Heck, I had fun. I struggled with some of them, but a whole new world opens up to me.

How do you work with your fears? Leave a comment; we can all learn from each other.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 03:48:16

    Looks like you had some fun with some other tangles this week! I know your feeling. Zendalas are a struggle for me too! Looks great!

    Reply

  2. dwhirsch
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 07:14:17

    Thanks! I feel really good about this. A bit darker than planned, but that adds to the spooky, boo-y feel for the week.

    Reply

  3. ksallquiet
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 07:20:28

    Well, you sure made working in your danger zone look totally easy, missy! What a beautiful zendala!

    Reply

  4. dwhirsch
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 07:31:52

    Thank you. It actually was fun, but it took awhile to complete.

    Reply

  5. NancyD
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 09:18:41

    It is gorgeous! NancyD

    Reply

  6. Donald Wilka
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 09:52:59

    Nice job. I think sometimes we approach zendalas as different as the templates are very symmetrical. I have some very nice free form ones that Maria has done. You did well with the challenge though of taking on something that was not comfortable. It turned out well.

    Reply

  7. Annemarie
    Oct 31, 2013 @ 14:23:54

    I keep looking at your zendale, it is very beautiful!

    Reply

  8. dobriendesign
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 04:56:48

    Amazing work, love your Zendala, great contrast and movement!

    Reply

  9. Chrissie
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 06:04:08

    This is really lovely, it is so full of different tangles. I also use TanglePatterns.com for inspiration. Sometimes I just pick a tangle out of the header bar, then look it up to see how it’s done.

    Reply

  10. Cecile
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 10:15:23

    so very nice

    Reply

  11. LonettA
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 22:51:28

    So beautiful zendala! Very nicely done!

    Reply

  12. Sue Sharp
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 17:29:47

    Lovely, creative tile and a wonderful blog entry. I had no idea that you mostly use official tangles and that it was out of your comfort zone to use others. I’m glad you had fun – I think it’s reflected in the tile!

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

