Reclaiming my NaNoWriMo month with Zentangle

“When Life gives you lemons, make lemon merengue pie.”~Reggie Williams, American musician

Turns out that I did shut down my life as I finished NaNoWriMo. I didn’t think I would, or could, but I have a pile of emails to answer, a stack of letters unopened and a list of phone calls to return that say otherwise. I also spent so much time writing that I never checked my blog, only to discover now that I hit “update” on half of the month’s blog posts rather than “publish.” My focus was on NaNo; nothing more.

20131203-123147.jpg

You wouldn’t know it to look at my month. Thanks to my Photo 365 app, you can see that I indulged in teaching a Zentangle class. I created art: stained glass artwork from copy paper, baby oil and Sharpies. Coffee. Thanksgiving pie and homemade stuffing. Car repairs and a spiffy red football-size rental. Computer (well, iPhone) games. Flowers from my husband. :) Tree lighting in Plymouth. Two scrapbook crops. And lots and lots of NaNo.

With all that, I’m still making time for Zentangle, as soon-to-be-published posts will show. I never planned to post any to the Diva’s website (Note: see busy-ness above), but this one I will. I have the time, I’m making the time.

20131204-103833.jpg

I initially thought I would finish with more tangles, but the open air in the center called me not to fill it in. The dangling garland off to the side decided it wanted to just hang there, so here it is. If I’m not going to listen to my Inner Editor, I’d better listen to my tiles.

You want to know what’s the best part of NaNo being over? Since every word counts, there’s a trick to spell out each and every word. I’m using contractions again!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jean Chaney
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 12:19:32

    I like what you did with the Boo-Kee with two very different approaches. I also like that you left the center open giving a lot of breathing room to the tile. Very nice.

    Reply

  2. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 18:15:14

    Fun Boo~Kee! Great tile! Sounds like you have been busy and having fun!

    Reply

  3. Annemarie
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 02:02:39

    Beautiful; you did right to listen to your tile to leave this open space.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 21:48:43

      Thanks for all the comments regarding the open space. I tell my students that leaving white space on a Zentangle is a daring thing to do. Even now, it feels uncomfortable to do, but I’m glad I did. I like it.

      Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

