A Zentangle return!

“You change your life by changing your heart.”~Max Lucado, writer

Oh, to procrastinate. How does one do that? Let me count the ways….

Wait. That’s just more procrastinating.

I am just so excited that my site is up and running again that I don’t know where to start! Posting comes to mind. I have been writing blog posts all this time, but I just have not been able to access my site. Now is the time to cut-n-paste from my main document, format and then publish, scheduling posts apart so as not to swamp my readers down with my fabulous images and insights. Yeah, that’s busy work. That’s why I am procrastinating.

Ways to focus? I turn to Zentangle. Yeah, maybe that sounds like a cop-out because I’m a CZT, but that’s why I’m a CZT.

20140122-140244.jpg

The Diva’s Zentangle Challenge #151 is using the logo of the Moebius Syndrome Foundation as the string, to raise awareness for her son’s nerve disorder.

I did two “tiles” this week. I finally pulled out the grey paper I bought during the holidays. I played with black/color and with white. This paper is delicious but moody.

20140122-140253.jpg

There must be ways to cheer it up, but right now it’s a perfect reflection of the dull snowy cold weather here in Michigan these days. And the fact that Moebius Syndrome is not a happy condition. I ripped the paper to see the core’s color, and all that makes this art feel appropriate to me.

Now I need a new excuse to procrastinate. Let me think of a way to do that…

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane Clancy
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 16:20:30

    This is lovely!! Glad you are up again. This is my first challenge and I am just starting!

    Reply

  2. Jean Chaney
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 18:06:00

    Nice work on the grey. Fun to see Eke too!

    Reply

  3. Kerry Wood
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 18:45:07

    Yes it is gray and cold here in Mich, that’s why I’m trying to add color to my zentangles….what a great way to get through winter….
    also I like the Moebius symbol.

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jan 23, 2014 @ 19:17:17

      I have some yummy color toys my husband bought me this year. I’ve cracked the seal on my Inktense pencils.

      Reply

  4. 1 Art Lady Kate Tangles
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 22:00:52

    So glad to see you around again! :) I have been hit and miss in other areas, and I think that you know what I mean there. It always comes down to the time crunch! I like the way that the gray creates a mood, and with this winter, it is what it is! I would actually like to know what kind of grey paper it is as it may be “particular” but it also looks yummy. It certainly tears a nice deckle edge!

    Reply

    • dwhirsch
      Jan 23, 2014 @ 19:25:11

      The grey paper came from an awesome mind-blowing big box craft store back East Coast called ACMoore. I’m sure you can find it online, but this is the first time I’ve seen it in person. Strathmore Toned Gray sketch paper. Not sure how it’ll hold up against watercolors and stuff=more reason to play!

      Reply

  5. Didisch
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 01:13:00

    Awesome, I love to draw on tan or grey paper too. So much dimension you can achieve with black and white. Love both of your tiles.

    Reply

  6. LonettA
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 02:03:30

    Wonderful on this grey paper! Great choice of tangles!

    Reply

  7. Annie
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 06:23:16

    I’ve just done a Zendala on grey and know that feeling! However, I think it’s a perfect serious medium for its subject matter and your tangles keep a lovely lightness to it all. Love the way you have got Nzepple to really curve on the sides of the strip. Axxx

    Reply

  8. Danni O'Brien, CZT
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 09:26:18

    Love the paper and your organic take on it. The white keeps it so light and airy.

    Reply

Care to share your thoughts?

My coolest posts, voted by you!

